It's the Little Things Part 八


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan
July 15th 2009
Published: August 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Sichuan province. It's a big area, lots of diversity, and lots of little things that I just can't see anywhere else. The adaptability and variety of the people here never fails to bring a grin to the corners of my mouth.


1. A man carrying a basket on his back, walking down the busy road, smoking a corn-cob pipe.

2. The monk that comes into my hostel to say, "Tashi Delek" and smile at me... and no one else.

3. The girl in the hot pink Juicy tracksuit suddenly leaning out the hostel window to offer me a local apple. She scared me to death.

4. Monks in the stores deciding which robes to purchase. I had no idea there were so many shades of red available.

5. Men walking their 2 goats down a busy stretch of windy road, oblivious to the traffic.

6. Our cab all decked out with flashing neon lights and techno music. I've never been in a pimped-out cab before.

7. All the people I'm constantly seeing in traditional Tibetan clothes.

8. Monks out and about, doing normal people things, like walking down the street talking on cell phones.

9. A man on a motorcycle, with 6 ducks laying over the back seat, sideways. They were still alive.

10. A different man on a motorcycle, with a "sidecar" made out of a wicker basket. In the basket were 2 goats. There was only one "sidecar," so I wonder how he balanced.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb