A honk and a yellow Sasquatch


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 22nd 2006
Published: June 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

At last, I have finally achieved a honk! This is an exciting turning point in the trip so far, as I feel as though I have gained some measure of acceptance by China.
This is because honking is a way of life for those on China's roadways and alleys. Like many other cities and nations in the world, they are constantly using thier horn to express frustration, say hello, alert to their presence, and warn of impending death. Walking down the streets are a feast of honks, some being quick, others long enough to relate a certain amount of agrevation, and others that make you question his driving ability with one hand firmly pressing the horn anytime the vehicle is in motion.
I, however, seem to be immune to honk despite the worst breaches of etiqute or flagrant flaunting of the rules of the road. Whereas a local will be chastised for the slightest infraction with a quick blast from an oncoming vehicle, my violations seem to be chalked up to foreign ignorance and are allowed to slide. In fact, many thing are turned a blind eye upon as nobody in this city seems to want to upset the foreigner. Despite how much I appreciate this generous and polite display of hospitality, I worry that my desire to learn about China and it's culture may be hindered by my perpetual outsider status. I expect to remain an outsider, but hope to gain a few concessions as far as acceptance goes.
In this vein, I have been purposefully trying to incite drivers to honk at me by doing anything that seems remotely stupid as a pedestrian that will not bring on bodily harm, massive trauma, or immediate death. So far my cultural experiment had proved unsuccesful as everyone has graciously let me continue on my way without the slightest honk, or even dirty look.
Today, however, my efforts where rewarded. I blantantly began crossing the street just as a car began to make a right turn on a red light. A quick blast of the horn, followed by a tapping of the finger to the temple was my sweet reward, and credence to my belief that I may be able to crack into Chinese culture on some levels. Deliverence!
On another note, no sooner asked for than recieved, Shanghai was hit by a thunder and lightning storm today that was accompanied by massive amounts of rainfall. Tempatures quickly fell into the limits of human habitation, and I was much more comfortable. I did, however, forget to pack the brand new Goire-tex coat I bought at the market, and was reduced to wearing the emergency poncho I bought for 1 dollar at Robinson's Sporting Goods before leaving home. In an attempt to prove that I could stick out in a crowd even more than was thought possible, I donned this yellow monstrosity and paraded down the street, towering above everyone like some bright yellow Sasquatch. This has possibly negated any acceptance I may have achieved with the aforementioned honk. Back to square one.
In an attempt to escape Shanghai I board a sleeper train this evening for an eleven and a half hour train journey to Anhui province and Huang Shan (Yellow Mountain) and Jiuhua Shan (Nine Brilliant Mountains). I expect to spend a few days there summiting the mountains and figuring out what else to due before my immanent return to Shanghai. I hope to be able to attach photos of this trip on my next entry.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb