Two Years Later...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
December 12th 2010
Published: December 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's December 2010, two year after my last entry on this blog. I thought it would be fitting to come back and sum up what's been going on ever since that trip to Ningbo.

We lived in Shanghai until winter 2009. I don't know exactly why I stopped writing this blog. Later that October 08 we took a trip to Beijing which was incredible in many ways, and we saw so much that made us awestruck or contemplative. But after a hellish experience at the "local" Great Wall of China, I guess the honeymoon stage was over. Though it was character building! Looking back it's a bit of a shame that these written accounts ended, but at the time I just wasn't in the mood to write anymore.

Fast forward now, two years later. Had this blog at the back of my mind. So here goes a quick summary.

The final three-ish months of our time in China was full of extraordinary experiences that shaped who I am as a person. You can't move to China from a north-american (or european, etc) way of life and not feel yourself change, even in minute ways.

November was a busy month - I was dancing a lot and Ollie was traveling around China for work. We celebrated our fourth anniversary at the charming Bella Napoli, and had some cheesy fun at a mini Canada Festival on Yandang Lu, painted moose and all!

December, Christmas, and I was on the hunt for a proper Christmas tree sighting. Alas much of what I found was made of geometric shapes, strung CDs and anime-esque characters in neon purples and hot pinks. Lol. Two traditional trees at the Ritz Carlton and Paulaner in Xintiandi warmed my heart, which was truly homesick. We made a lovely Christmas, just the two of us, scouring the city for as many of our favourite treats, holiday movies, twinkling lights and decorations. And had it not been for the infestation of flies in our apartment building climbing all over every surface and every morsel of food, it would've been perfect! Ahh the memories!

January flew by in a flash. Had one of the best NYEs of my life (when in party city Shanghai). Hunting through fabric markets haggling like a pro, shopping for authentic gifts to bring home for family and friends, drinking the afternoon away at Fasia french wine festival, soaking in the final days of my life in the city. All the months and hours of dance rehearsals culminated in Danse et Toile at 1918 ArtSpace. The show was a success, all the hard work paid off.

Got on a plane and flew to NYC for a week, followed by home to Toronto... but only for a two week visit. Moved west again, but this time only as far as Edmonton, Alberta, a new city to call home until spring 2010 and a culture shock all over again - this time in reverse. Little population, big prairie sky.

Now, I call London UK home, and you can follow my adventures on http://mouchonintheworld.wordpress.com/

What I've taken away from living in four cities in three years, three continents, and four vastly different cultures, is that if you're adventuresome, open minded, flexible, resilient and have a good sense of self, you can make it anywhere - you can make home anywhere and be happy. The grass will always be greener, but it's a big world full of wonderful adventures to be had, and I plan on having them.

Advertisement



14th December 2010

Travel Turkey
Nice text & pictures, than you. www.e-turkeygreece.com
6th January 2011

I like your information.Thanks a lot ...

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb