AA sucks :)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
March 28th 2010
Published: March 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The trip to Shanghai yesterday was quite interesting 😊 Per schedule I should have flown @ 6 AM from Boston to Chicago to get the 14 hour long international flight @ 10.35 AM to Shanghai.

So far so good. After boarding @ 5.30 AM we seemed to be missing the most important crew member: the captain. After an hour of waiting we were informed that they still do not know where he was and that everybody with connection flights in CHI should call the American Airlines Hotline. Of course @ 6.30 AM the line was busy all the time so almost everybody wanted to be re-booked to the other regular flight @ 7.10 AM. All of a sudden we got informed that the captain arrived and we would start asap after he parked his car. This only took another 2 hours!!!
So we finally left Boston at 8.30 AM and arrived 10.20 AM in CHI.
After runnning to the gate I just made it as last passenger onto the airplane when they almost already closed the gate. U can imagine how happy all the other passengers were when I sqeezed through a completely sold out flight and tried to find room for my handluggage.
Overall I can say about American Airlines that the flight attendants were not really helpful and just referring to the hotline that did not work. We finally got some drinks after asking several times. At first they wanted to charge for drinks after we have been sitting for 2 1/2 hours in the f... plane...unbelievable.

So after a relaxing 14 hour flight, 3 meals and watching 4 movies we arrived late Saturday afternoon in Shanghai. The weather was really good. Approx. 65 ° F and sunshine.

I took the first steps in China on nora flooring ...lol...In the gangways and parts of the airport seems to be nm lago in Terazzo look installed. After passing thru immigrations I got all my luggage and got picked up by a cab the company organized. The driver did not speak a word of English but had a speaking computer that told you that it is highly recommended to fasten your seatbelt.
The drive into the city was quite interesting and I learned that on a road that is built for 3 lanes traffic can flow way faster if 5 cars are driving next to each other if there is a traffic jam.
Well, after approx. 1 hour the driver dropped me off at the Apartment building I am going to stay for the next 1-2 month.

The apartment is on the 21st floor and looks very nice.
After unpacking all my stuff I went outside to discover the area. First thing I noticed when I left the building that there is a STARBUCKS right across the street so breakfast is safe 😊 Just across the street there is also a huge 6 floor shopping mall with a french grocery store where you can get almost everything we are used to from home. I also walked to see where the nora office is located. It is maybe 20 minutes to walk so not too bad.

When I got home at 8 PM i felt that I had not slept in more than 24 hours and went to bed at 9. Had a very good sleep!

Sunday morning i woke up at 8 AM and went for breakfast to Starbucks where they luckily also have all products written in English 😊 Had a nice coffee and yoghurt. Later this afternoon I will meet with the other 2 colleagues from Germany. Will see what we have for dinner. Every dinner outside will be an adventure 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

2 floors in one room2 floors in one room
2 floors in one room

my office in the bedroom above the TV..awesome


29th March 2010

CSV Manager
Wow you have great experience so far. I love the apt it is very small but what a view. This is great to communicate. Keep it coming. I'm so happy to hear Starbucks is across the way, I think you will be safe with food...lol We miss you! It's only 1month you are gone not 2 buddy...lol
30th March 2010

blog
Wow, that was informative.. LOVE IT - Starbucks??? What about Dunkins???lol

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb