Butter Chicken dinner party


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
December 17th 2009
Published: December 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Matthew's "Hello, how are you?" 24 secs
2: the Metro 120 secs
3: construction 11 secs
at the dinner tableat the dinner tableat the dinner table

L-R: Ivy & Matthew, me, Sophie, Yolanda, Cici
My roommate and I decided to have our Chinese co-teachers over for a dinner...as an early Christmas celebration & to just be friendly. So after school last Thursday, Ivy and her son (Matthew) & Yolanda...and Sophie & Cici (Genelle's co-teachers) came over.

We decided to cook butter chicken--one of my favourite things to cook because it's simple & tasty & it's an entire meal in one dish since it has carbs, meat, vegetables and dairy! We served it with rice and bread. Too bad we couldn't find naan bread. Everyone liked it, even 2-year-old Matthew! It was the first time we had people over for a meal. We even bought some extra plates from IKEA (though we should have bought some extra cutlery too). 😊

Our co-teachers were very kind and brought a Christmas cake for dessert!

Matthew, Ivy's son, is such a clever little boy. He's so adorable! He just turned two years old in October and started to attend school in October. He's picked up quite a lot of English already! I see him at the end of each day when Ivy brings him up to our classroom. He always says "hello, how are you?" to
gān​bēi!gān​bēi!gān​bēi!

Matthew initiated the toasting by saying, "gān​bēi!!!"
me in the cutest voice ever! (I think he learned to say that from the Hello Song that his teacher sings with his class every day.) He can sing Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star too. He can't really say my name yet...he says "we-bu-ka". ehehe.

Videos
1. Matthew's "Hello, how are you?" so cute!!!

2.. At the metro--Xin Zhuang station. The station is packed & crazy...and it's already pretty quiet compared to People's Square! This video was taken a couple weekends ago. It's always an ordeal to get on to a train. Everyone waits for the doors to slide open and then when they do....everyone rushes madly and pushes their way in like there's no tomorrow. (and in the video, I even budded in front of people to get closer to the doors. I feel bad about it, but you just have to be very aggressive here or you won't get in/you won't have a chance to get a seat). Genelle and I have gotten pretty good at grabbing seats quickly. Whoever sits down first also tries to put a hand or bag down (or sometimes, we put our leg out) to "reserve" another seat. 😊 In this video,
the cake!the cake!the cake!

Our chinese co-teachers bought a cake and some pastry-cookies for us from Christine's Bakery near our complex.
I sit down first and I try to save a seat for Genelle. But then....an elderly lady comes & sits on me! It was funny cuz I initially didn't realize she was an elderly lady, so I nudged her and said "NO!!!!". But when I realized she was an elderly lady, I of course got up and gave her my seat without hesitation.

3. Video of some crazy construction (I had uploaded this video in a previous entry, but it didn't seem to work. so hopefully it'll work this time)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

eggplant!eggplant!
eggplant!

"qié​zi" is the equivalent of "say cheese"...and it means eggplant! We had fun taking pictures after dinner! :) And Matthew found two of our clothes hangers & was so happy playing with them!


23rd December 2009

YumYum butter chicken
Hey Rebecca, i just saw this part of your blog. I want to taste some of your butter chicken. I love the pictures especially the one where you all made a chinese pose.The dessert looks so appealing.The whole blog makes me hungry lol.You really look calm and happy in the pics. Am guessing that the gal that sat next to you in the pics is ur roomie, she doesn't look chinese.
30th December 2009

Awesome videos Rebecca, Matthew is so cute! And I love butter chicken, I should try to make it myself some day. Look forward to seeing some pics from your Christmas in Hong Kong! :)

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb