Day 26 - Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
November 7th 2009
Published: November 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Pepsi decided to sleep in so I followed this random middleman who took me around to a few different back alley shops for a commission. I ended up buying a tie and shirt but saw a lot of interesting things out the back of these shops. At first I thought they would try and trap me out the back and force me to buy something but it was all good 😊

After this we headed off to the most famous landmark in Shanghai, the Pearl TV Tower. We took the Bund tunnel to get there. The Pearl Tower is the tallest tower in Asia and we went up to the observation deck at 269 metres. Like Macau, this tower also had clear glass floors. This time I did not give Pepsi the chance to chicken out. I snuck up behind him and lifted him onto the glass LOL!!!!! He was a bit more comfortable with the glass after this and even tentatively walked on it himself.

We then set off for the Shanghai World Financial centre, we gave up half way because we were lost. I took a photo of what I think was the building but I am not sure?????
Our next destination was the Science and Technology centre (actually we only went there to go to the markets). Pepsi wanted to buy a pair of jeans and I wanted to buy a belt. We were both down to our last few RMB so we had to get in and out without buying too much.

This is how it ended at the markets........Pepsi was too scared to bargain for jeans so he looked at shoes instead. He only wanted one pair of shoes but ended up with two (sounds like me in Beijing). He spent so long negotiating the sales woman was getting angry and as part of the deal he had to buy her an icecream. They worked out the final price but then she charged him 10 rmb more because her "boss" would not sell them that cheap LOL. Meanwhile I went next door to kill some time while Pepsi was bargaining for shoes. I walked out of the store with a 16gb ipod and a random souvenir. I spent my top secret last resort US dollar stash LOL. I also got my belt (280 down to 45rmb) and another business shirt (225 down to 40rmb). Everybody at the markets was my friend they gave me a "special price" just for me and the quality of their goods is much better than everyone else (*rolls eyes*).

On the way home we were on the train working out our finances (trying to decide if we could afford dinner) and we missed our stop 😞 I saw the stop too late and ran to the doors but they closed when I got there. This girl on the train was laughing and luckily she spoke good english. She told us we could go to the next stop and then catch the train back (the train going in the other direction). We finally made it back to the hotel and will spend the night trying to pack our bags.

This is the last entry as the trip is done. The remaining time will be spent travelling.

We both had a great time and are looking forward to going home!!! :D

Ripoff Tally - 14



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb