A fond farewell . . .


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 27th 2009
Published: August 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

And so, the time is upon me. I thought that I should share this moment with you as I bid a fond farewell to a place I've grown to love...

Sadly, tonight is my last night in the Hanting Express, Wanyuan Lu.

Tomorrow I start a new chapter in my life when at half past five (SH time of course) I collect the keys to my lovely new apartment!!!! woo woo

After a fortnight of viewing apartments of varying size/price/condition I was becoming a little despondent. Nothing was quite fitting the bill.
The lovely T-B's accompanied me on many a sweaty walk to different locations, and the pressure was getting to us all. The numerous estate agents we had visited were now becoming ever more reckless in the choice of apartments they were showing us, whilst others insisted on ringing me pretty much continuously, in the hope they would wear me down and I would agree to rent an overpriced 1970's reconstruction.
I too was loosing my senses. At one point I was seriously considering renting an apartment with a bathroom tiled the same colour as an explosion in a tango factory, and a main bedroom with a 'feature wall and ceiling' reminiscent of the 'American Beauty' film cover. For those who haven't seen it think a wall of pink rose petal pot pouri. Nice.
And all because I wanted somewhere to live and it had a nice view over an astro-turf football pitch and so it would be a bit like having a box at a ground somewhere. (got to watch some footy while away from the highs and lows of the Shay)

Anyhoo, I came to my senses and realised that it was panic setting in and that I should just ride it out. So thank god, I was saved the view of that bathroom for the rest of the year. But still, I was without a place to call home.

Last Friday night we had a work meal out. Food was excellent (lots of veggie choice) in a Beijing style restaurant, and the Tsing Dao was free and plentiful.
My new friend Marie was on particularly good form as she had just that day got the keys to her new apartment. As different well meaning people came to ask how the apartment search was going I was becoming more and more dejected. Marie Suggested I go meet the agent she used and see if that got me any further.
Later after the meal, a group of us headed out into the French concession to a place called the Boxing Cat, which has it's own micro-brewery. I had my first pint of ale in China, although they did stick a bit of fruit in it. Nevertheless, it was a mighty fine pint. After that it seemed only right to enjoy a couple of cooling and refreshing G&T's. Top night all round.

The next day I headed back to the concession to make appointments at some estate agents, and viewing were arranged. This was made possible by the services of Zorran, my excellent Chinese speaking friend, who did all the talking and arranging, while I did all the nodding and smiling.

To cut a long, and otherwise pointless story short, last Tuesday I found an excellent spot. It didn't take much thinking over and within an hour we had rung the owner and accepted it.
It is clean and newly renovated, on a beautiful tree lined street with a bakery and wine shop nearby. It is in an excellent spot in the concession, close to lots of nice food shops, restaurants and the odd bar. Couldn't ask for more really.

Yesterday I signed for it, again, aided and abetted by Zorran. It was quite a comedy moment counting out 3 months rent(2 rent and 1 deposit) for another 3 people to count and re-count it. Everything is done in cash here, and because it is approx £x10 for RMB It felt like I was handing over my life's fortune. I then had to pay the agent 35% of the months rent as their fee. Money flying round all over the place!
After signing the contract and inventory there was much smiling, nodding and 'xiexie' ing between myself and the lovely older couple who are now my landlord and landlady, and plans were made for official testing of appliances and handover of keys tomorrow.

So that's it. I must now bid adieu to the Travelodge of China.

Over my time here I have slowly won the staff over. All now shout a cheery 'Ni Hao' in unison from behind the reception as I saunter in and out. They have learned to stiffle their giggles at my attempts at Chinese pronunciation, and instead smile and nod encouragingly.
The security guard who at first appeared surly and slightly scary, now doubles back on himself in order to say hello as he does his patrol.
Everyone now seems to love my miming and gesturing, as everyone seems very happy whenever I have a go. A particular favourite was when I tried giving them a cashcard I found on the floor. They kept giving it me back, ignoring my prize winning miming and gesturing. It took another kindly guest to explain it to them in Chinese before they finally relented and kept the card. Much laughter all round!

After being locked out of my room the last couple of nights for going over my two week quota I swung by reception to check my door card was working. A kindly English speaking youth was shoved into action and made to ask when I was 'exiting the hotel'. When I pointed out it was my last night here they did indeed look sad. Even the security fella came over to listen in on the discussion (we are now buds obviously). After the sad news of my departure I managed to lighten the mood by asking for a little scented rectangular disk that fits in a plug-in anti mozzy device in my room.Tonight miming, and drawing, let me down, even with the young man's English skills. I decided we had had a good run anyway, and went back to my room after congratulating the youngster on his English skills. 5 mins later there was a knock at my door and two mosquito repellents were delivered by the blushing youth. Obviously not so bad a communicator as first thought.

And with that I leave you. Work tomorrow and I still have to pack all my worldly goods for my big move. Should take a good ten mins. or so . . .

I may be out of contact for a day or two until I have the internet put into my name at the new spot. This only usually takes a day or two, so I should be back before you know it.

You never know, I may even have learned how to upload pictures properly by then!!!

Love to all x



Advertisement



27th August 2009

term time is comin...
Lovely distraction from lesson planning! Need virtual tour of flat and french concession. Could a visit be justified as CPD?
31st August 2009

CPD
Totally it could. Cultural diversity is a big thing i seem to remember. Just ask Denise . . . Fill a request form in quick

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb