Glimpses of China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
July 20th 2009
Published: July 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

MonksMonksMonks

Chanting and playing instruments
Well, I am more than halfway through my program, it's going by so fast! Too fast really, I am loving living in China, every day is full of interesting and unique experiences. This past weekend I stayed in Shanghai to go KTVing (karaoke) with some friends and to visit the Shanghai Botanical Gardens. The weather has become pretty unbearably hot, and we chose probably the hottest day of the summer up to this point to walk around outside for 6 hours and to visit a tropicarium which was even hotter than outside. However, it was a fun and interesting day. On the way back to the metro we walked through an outdoor market, many of the pictures I am including with this post are from the market. Also, last Friday I went to the Shanghai Science and Tech Museum metro stop, where skateboarders set up rails and kickers. That area is also a shopping mecca for fake clothes, sunglasses, purses, and much much more. If anyone wants anything let me know! I have been pretty swamped with work everyday and am off to review the thirty-something characters I need to memorize by tomorrow! I hope to include some more stories next time, but this post was mostly to share these pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Jing'An Temple Jing'An Temple
Jing'An Temple

Incense in black and white
FireFire
Fire

At Jing'An Temple
FamilyFamily
Family

Taken at the South Heaven Gate Temple on Putuoshan
BoardslideBoardslide
Boardslide

This kid is 12 years old and has some ridiculous skills
Broken BoardBroken Board
Broken Board

He got pissed after missing a trick and stomped his deck
B.A.B.A.
B.A.

This guy is 20 years old and owns a skateshop that all these guys hang out at all the time. Best skateboarder I have ever seen in person
BikeBike
Bike

Shanghai Botanical Gardens
Peeking over the EdgePeeking over the Edge
Peeking over the Edge

Overnight Ferry
WorkerWorker
Worker

He thought it was hilarious that I wanted to take his picture
Making FoodMaking Food
Making Food

Outdoor Market


24th July 2009

We miss you
I am just so glad everything turned around for you. I can't wait for you to come back so we can see all your beautiful pictures! We love you lot's, take care, Danielle and the boys!
31st July 2009

Simply WOW
Kyle: I am totally overwhelmed with your pictures! You have an incredible eye for framing a shot and catching "THE MOMENT." Sure you don't want to go into journalism? I think I have a few connections (--: Not only are you a fabulous writer, but an incredible photographer. I'm sharing your blog with the young woman who works with me. I think I told you about her. Her name is Elizabeth and she is from China. She is loving your stuff as well. Keep on enjoying! Love, Sammy
1st August 2009

Cool pictures!
Hi! I was born there and your pictures are awesome! I have not been to this skating park. It looks great! Oh...and KTV is SOOOOOO "in" over there! I always go when I go there :)

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb