SHOPPING SHANGHAI STYLE


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
July 7th 2009
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have done a little exploring in Shanghai on my own and found some interesting places I want to go back to. I found a drug store and tried to buy some large cotton balls to clean the cat’s infected ear with. They apparently didn’t have that and I ended up buying a small roll of cotton that was with first aid supplies. There are many things that are just hard to find here that are everyday items in the US. Phoebe has taken me to several of her favorite spots. They are also becoming my favorite spots. We have been to the fabric market already at least 3 times. Now the fabric market isn’t for buying fabric, no it’s for having things made with fabric you select. Custom made clothing! Yeah, something that really fits the way you want it to. On my first trip to the fabric market, I ordered a trench coat and a knit dress and a silky top. On my second visit to pick up the orders from the first visit, I ordered a silk jacket and top and a linen tunic. The jacket and tunic needed some adjustment, so I’ll go back the end of
Fabric MarketFabric MarketFabric Market

Kendra (in red shirt) selecting fabric for her husbands shirts.
the week to pick them up and probably order something else. The lined trench coat cost 230 RMB or about $33.85, the green knit dress cost 210 RMB or $30.88, the brown top cost 150 RMB or $22.00. The dark blue silk top was more mmmmm…expensive at 180 RMB or $26.50, but I love it! Phoebe has had many garments made there already. Kendra also had several things made while she was here. YES, we love the fabric market. See the pictures. They also have some other things there, but the clothing is the big deal. There is one vender we refer to as the silk booth. This shop has all kinds of silk brocade stuff, little cosmetic and jewelry pouches, handbags, pillow covers, address books, etc. Also a favorite with me.

Now another place we have been to twice already is the Pearl Market. I was expecting it to be a market to buy “pearls” and I don’t need any more pearls. I was very surprised and excited to see all they had there, including about 4 floors of “jewelry” venders of all price ranges. We spent a good bit of time at one vender and designed our own necklaces. See the picture of mine and a jade pendent of Guan Yin, 观音 the bodhisattva of compassion, that I paid 60 RMB for (about $8.80 after my bargaining). I will have a necklace made with that also. Any suggestions from anyone on how I should do that? I paid less than $8 for the one I designed with the two stones on it. Now it is very easy to spend your money here. The currency looks so different you almost feel like you’re spending play money and at first it is hard to keep track of because you’re not use to converting it in your head. I’ve got the hang of that now, but it took a few shopping trips to get that securely in my head.

The food stores here are very interesting of course. You will see many things here that are not available in the states, even at Cao Nguyen. I really wish I could read Chinese characters. It would make it so much easier to shop in the Chinese stores which are so much cheaper than the imported stores. Yesterday I bought what I hoped was dish washing liquid, but I wasn’t sure until I got home and tried it. Luckily I made the right choice for less than $2. There are many many street venders who just lay there stuff out on the sidewalk for sale. Some of it is so cheap you feel bad not paying any more for it. AND, of course, bargaining or bartering in the name of the game here. At many places you do not pay the asking price but you bargain with the seller for a better price. Of course, those who speak “Shanghainese” dialect or Mandarin have an advantage here. Phoebe does pretty well most of the time. I believe Kendra settled at 30 RMB for a pair of slippers and I paid 10 RMB for the same ones at a different vender. I’m getting the better at it everyday.

Street venders are great! Lots of fresh fruits and veggies, which as you probably already know, that suits me perfectly. It is reasonably priced, usually by the pound. We bought a fresh pineapple one evening right across the street from the apt. and the guy cleaned it for us and slipped into a plastic bag. GREAT!! Cleaning a fresh pineapple is half the battle. Now there was a row of street food in Beijing where you could buy anything on a stick and I mean anything!! I’m not even going to tell you all they had waiting to cook for you. It was a popular block in Beijing. I’ll talk about Beijing later. While there one evening I wanted to buy some tea at a nice tea shop and we were invited to sit down have some before buying so we could decide which one we wanted. It was almost like a tea ceremony, very similar procedure.

Now Phoebe and I walk to most places or sometimes take a taxi, which is pretty cheap here. Bill and Phoebe do have a car. A Buick minivan. It is the standard vehicle for most of the expats here. They are made right here in China but cost a lot more here than in the US. $50,000 here as opposed to about $30,000 in the US. Go figure! They are all either silver or navy blue. It is funny to go to a place that caters to foreigners and see all the blue and silver Buick minivans. Very few expats do any driving here. They all have Chinese drivers. The driving here is CRAZY!! Sometime’s Bill and Phoebe’s driver will come back after taking Bill to work (1 hr.+ each way) and take us somewhere if it’s far away.

The ATM’s here are nice. Most of them are in individual little booths that you go into and lock while you transact your business. They do have English on the screen so it’s pretty easy to use. My bank allows me to withdraw up to US $500 a day and charges about a 3 or 4% service charge and the ATM gives me RMB’s. Most ATM’s won’t allow that much to be withdrawn at one time. I was able to get $393 at one time, but I don’t remember what machine it was at. Everything here is done with cash so you have plan ahead. When I purchased a plane ticket to Beijing, I paid for the ticket in cash, 1,500 RMB. Nobody uses checks and I have only seen a few foreigners even use credit cards. They are not accepted everywhere.

I am an obvious tourist no matter where I go. My blonde hair gives me away even with sun glasses. I have had people come up to me and ask if they could take their small child’s picture with me. This has happened several times already. I included one here and I’ve thrown in a few pictures of places I have been that I will tell you about in time to come. Signing off for now. JL




Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Cleaning pineappleCleaning pineapple
Cleaning pineapple

We bought a pineapple from the fruit vender right across the street from the apt.
Cleaning pineappleCleaning pineapple
Cleaning pineapple

Finishing up with the pineapple with the right tool.
Street vendersStreet venders
Street venders

This is the alleyway right behind the apt. Our favorite spot for vegetables.
Baby bok choy.Baby bok choy.
Baby bok choy.

Phoebe selecting the best!
Buying TeaBuying Tea
Buying Tea

You get to taste as many teas as you want before you buy it. L to R Joan, Kendra, Phoebe, sales lady, Bill, Maggie, Ken is taking the pic.
Grocery shoppingGrocery shopping
Grocery shopping

Headed home with a cart full of groceries.


11th July 2009

love the pics
Enjoyed all the pictures keep them coming great bargins love the jewerly wonderful apt. It's HOTTER than a FIRECRACKER on the 4th of July!! And Oh! by the way I'm going to be a Grandma again! SURPRISE to ME. Can't wait to hear more. Be Careful and safe. Love Ya Connie K

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb