First Month in Shanghai!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
July 1st 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

FIRST MONTH IN SHANGHAI



Hey everyone,

I told myself that I would blog everyday during my time in Shanghai this summer, but my laziness caught up with me and the blogging wasn't happening. I have now been here for a little over a month and the experience has been great. I guess this first entry will be a summary of my first month and ideally I will continue posting a blog everyday from here on. I'm not going to promise anything though.

Since I had only been away from Shanghai for about five months it didn't seem like I had been gone that long once I returned. It seemed like I went back home to visit for a week and then came back. However, there are deffinately differences this time around. I'm living on my own in a part of town that I'm not familiar with, and I'm working 40 hours a week instead of going to classes like I did last year.

The internship is a little different than what I had expected, but I'm learning a lot. There are days where I am sitting and staring at my computer for 8 hours and there are the days where I get to work on projects with my boss and co-workers. Everyday I get to use my Mandarin skills to communicate with my co-workers, which is a thrill in itself. I definately have got used to being laughed at when I mispronounce a word, but it is all in good fun.

So far everything has been going great and everyday has been a learning experience. I will continue talking about my experiences in later posts. It's getting late, and 6:00 a.m. comes around fast.

Cheers!

Ben




Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb