Great friends and a great beach!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 10th 2009
Published: June 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Dear blogaholics

Apologies for not writing the past weekend, life is just moving too fast for us. I taught my class the phrase "Stop the world I want to get off" today and it is so appropriate at the moment. I am intending on making this blog short as I really need to go and continue marking but I wanted to share some stuff with you all.

Firstly, I went on a very relaxing girls evening on Friday night with some friends from work to a bar called Enoteca. The best bit was that I got to drink the best wine I have tasted since I have been in Shanghai for a decent price. Also, a brie and parma ham baguette....what more could you ask for??!! On Saturday morning while Ian was at work, the children and I went to Zhongshan Park for Emily and Nathan's birthday parties. We had a fab time, we all went with the girls group, did the sand pictures and went on some rides. Back to their apartment for pizza and ice cream cake...heaven itself! Ian joined us after work and we didn't actually come home til late, a very lovely day with great friends. We hope there will be many more.

On Sunday, we went for a picnic to the beach. Yes, I will debate the matter, there is a beach in the middle of Shanghai...well on the outskirts anyway! We went to Sheshan, where William and Ian went on the school trip last week, with our friends. We had such a relaxing day, I couldn't believe how green and clean and empty it was. There is a man made beach and a lake and an outdoor swimming pool to die for. We took a picnic and just sat and chatted while the kids played. The weather was gorgeous and I got a touch burned (shins...OUCH!!!) but felt totally relaxed, just what we needed!

This week is getting even more manic than ever. As we are moving out of our apartment earlier than we had planned, we are going to be nomads for the next 8 weeks, living out of suitcases! The plan goes something like this....Sunday,we move our boxes to a friends house....Wed to a hotel for 2 nights...Friday to our friends' apartment (WE LOVE YOU SUZANNE AND MARK THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!) while they are out of the country. When we get back, we will stay at another friends' apartment until we can hopefully get in our new one on 12th Aug. Fingers crossed but we are still trying to negotiate...this is China after all!

At this point I feel I have to mention a few things. I have really been appreciating lately the great life we have here and the brilliant time the children are having. They are so happy and have so many friends, it is just so wonderful to see. Sophie got 82% on her recent math assessment and we are just so proud of her...she got my maths brain and it is all down to hard work.

Also, I have really enjoyed teaching my class although the school has had its challenges. My students are great and I am really going to miss them. I will keep in touch with them as most of them are not going far, and I even think I will receive updates from my one student who is returning to the States. I hope so.

Ian is working back at our school again for a few days, so no time to pack I am afraid, I think that will be the job for Saturday! So, life is 3000 things at 3000 miles per hour....I am sure I am not the only one, am just trying to make it to the 27th June and then looking forward to our trip to Blighty on 2nd July. Not long now....


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1118s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb