you can go home again...right?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
December 14th 2008
Published: December 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We are heading home on Tuesday for a visit. We are all very excited but I have to admit I am a little nervous. Going home for a visit and then returning here will be strange I think. Not going home would be more difficult so we of course are going to get through any transition issues but it's going to be strange to be sure.

I've been reading old blog entries and reminiscing a lot about how things were when we first got here. I remember all the things I worried about before coming here: how the kids would adapt, how we'd manage without so many of our comforts from home. I also remember celebrating our small victories during our time with no Chinese language skills at all. Just the point and hand signaling methods. I remember feeling like everyone was staring at me--and caring. We've lived with way less stuff here and it's really been liberating. We have a small place, with IKEA furniture, a washing machine in our bathroom, no dryer, no oven, not a lot of storage, and we have been doing well with all these changes in lifestyle. Our home is clean, it's safe and we are in such a great area. We also have a lot of help on the housework front so that makes the lack of amenities much easier to handle. The smallness of our living space means we are together and aware of each other much more than in a 3 story house where we scattered and did our own thing a lot more. Our family time is plentiful here and we have seen the kids become more creative in their play and their interest in exploring and just looking at new things. Of course they still want the stuff. And of course we still buy them stuff. But it's not the all consuming force it was in the past.

When we go home we will be driving...so odd...and likely driving in the snow. Haven't driven at all while here and have been glad not to do so. We will also have an oven for a couple weeks. Not sure how much we'll use it, but we can. Same is true for dishwasher, real washer/dryer that can handle more than a few items per load. Soft beds...oh that will be strange. I hope I don't have to readjust back to the beds here. I remember that painful adjustment well.

I'm most nervous about losing my Chinese with limited practice, so we 4 are going to try to keep practicing while home. We did agree to try not to do that too much when we are with other people because that could be annoying to others.

This is my 96th blog entry. I've written over 90,000 words to date. Thanks to all of you who have sent me notes along the way. I have loved hearing from people I know and also people I don't. Thanks to the combination of this blog, email, Facebook and Skype, I have stayed very connected to my network and I've managed to grow the network to include new friends from around the world. All good.

Happy Holidays. I have a feeling my entries will be limited over the next few weeks. I'll try to do a weekly journal but no guarantees. Our schedules are packed full of visits and activities.

Advertisement



14th December 2008

You have come a long way baby!
Can't wait to see you guys on Thurs!!!!! So jealous of your new simple life. It is a good reminder to us all especially during this holiday season. Safe travels and looking forward to some face to face time!
15th December 2008

What's Chinese for Bon Voyage?
Terrific blog! Expect to see Evanston with new eyes, but you'll adapt "back" quickly (so jot down those first impressions for future reference), and then when you return to Shanghai, expect to see it with new eyes too. Re all those things you'll have in your life again: how 'bout this one...no ayi? Enjoy your trip home, Suzanne! I look forward to the next 90,000 words.

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb