How Much Is That Doggy In the Window


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
December 13th 2008
Published: December 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello to you all, I have not been on in a while. I apologize. China has made access to some websites really difficult over the last year, Travelblog.org being one. Now that the Olympics are over, they seem to be backing off a bit. I hope soon, that I will bring myself back up to date with all my travels. I did want to put this on tonight. It is something that for me needs to be remembered....



If you are squeamish, please do not read any further......



This is a Chinese experience that fortunately I have been able to avoid until now. However, I am surprised it has taken this long to actually see this sight. You will be glad that I did not take a picture. But I don't want to lose the memory, so I am writing this down.

Dave and I went to church tonight (Sat, Dec 13) since we are headed out to India in the morning. We attend Mass in an older part of Shanghai that has older turn of the century buildings. Many people in this neighborhood have a business of some sort on the first floor. On the second floor, a man was leaning out the window hanging an animal of some sort. I am used to ducks and chickens being hung up after being dressed. But this creature had a tail. I was not prepared for the reality of what it actually was.
You must know by now that it was a dog, sans its skin. About the time Dave identified it as a dog, I noticed the head. I can handle raw meat, but this poor little guy was still intact. I am still a bit freaked out by it a little.

It had been skinned and the restaurant owner was (I guess) hanging it to cure. This place was a little mom and pop shop that had a few tables and a large wok. I noticed the first floor was a restaurant after coming out of church. What was even more “comical” were the dogs running in and out of the restaurant. Dave thinks they were looking for their friend, who happened to be on tomorrow nights’ dinner menu. I like the denial I feel when making jokes. I don’t really want to think about the reality.
It helps to reflect a bit on this because it is so easy to make the joke about eating dog. I have seen it on menus in restaurants. If we eat ultra local, I just trust that we are eating beef. I have learned not to ask details.

So, this little tidbit is for my memory so that it is not lost in the sea of memories that I have in China. I am grateful that I have blessings enough that dog is not on my menu. I need to be sensitive to the people who cannot afford to eat with the luxury that I take for granted.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb