We're leaving the country...finally....


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
October 10th 2008
Published: October 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I think it's safe to say I'm a little China-ed out. I'm past the point where I want to yell at everyone. Alex and I have simply ended up in a Zen mindset, realizing that our immediate future is out of our hands.

But the good news is that we are supposed to pick up a real valid visa, not even back dated or anything, on Monday. We'll be flying out on Monday night to Yangshuo to pick up some of our stuff and then it's off to Vietnam for 3 weeks before we go home.

We've spent our time (a freaking month!) in Shanghai visiting every museum, art gallery, park and historical place we could find, as well as spending large amounts of time lounging on Chris's couch watching the Office. Shanghai Urban Planning Museum? Check. First meeting place of the Communist Party? Done. Propaganda Poster Museum? Seen it. Dumpling cooking class? Been there. First three seasons of the Office? Bring it on, fourth season, we're ready for you!

If you've ever read "Life and Death in Shanghai" then you know it's about a woman who was detained for 6 years by the government during Culture Revolution. If you haven't read, get it! It's great read and everyone I know that's read it loves it. I was actually kind of excited to go to Shanghai because I was hoping that I could see some of the places she talks about, like the Number 1 Detention Center. Unfortunately, and predictably, most of those places did not survive the crazy destruction of the 60's. The only building I could find was the Number 1 Department Store, which survived because Party members shopped there. The building, which was once considered Shanghai's finest and most exclusive shopping center, now hosts a department store which I would say is something like JC Penney's. In other words, a big let down.

Before I go on, I should mention that while Shanghai used to thrive on the opium trade and British pounds, Shanghai now exists solely for brand name shopping. Big brand names, like Dolce & Gabbana and oh ......just crap like that. Even the cheapest clothing markets go to the trouble of adding a fake "Polo" symbol to get a little more money. So there will be a perfectly decent bag and then a huge tacky D&C label plastered across the side.

I don't like clothes shopping. In fact, if i could pay someone to do my clothes shopping for me, that would be ideal (Angela are you reading this? I can pay you in Chinese money, it's growing in value as we speak!). I really hate the idea of buying name brand clothes, because it seems like throwing your money away in a really ostentatious way. Like "Look! I just spent $300 on this handbag!".


I'd rather spend my money on food. Shanghai, lucky for me, also had a around a gamillion resturants ranging from street food to 5 star joints that I've only dreamed of entering. Alex's new favorite food is called xiao long bao which is a kind of dumpling filled with meat and soup. We took a cooking class to learn how to make them and actually, it's wayyy more difficult than it looks! My favorite new food is Chinese pancakes, fried with a egg and sprinkled with hot sauce and green onions. I have no idea how to make it but it shouldn't be too hard, right? Just need one really old Chinese lady and some batter and a grill.....

I promise to post the whole story about our visa, but I'm going to wait until we leave the country, I just don't want to take any chances.








Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

I may have posted this beforeI may have posted this before
I may have posted this before

BUT IT"S A FREAKING MOUSE WITH A HUMAN EAR ON IT!


11th October 2008

questions
Your hair is sooo long! Are you dying your roots brown again? Does that question enrage you like it once did in 9th grade? Will you make me soup-filled pastries when you come home? Can we change the recipe to make cheeseburger-filled pastries?

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb