The China Wrap-Up


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 1st 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Tricks of Street VendorsThe Tricks of Street VendorsThe Tricks of Street Vendors

To think that someone went through the work to take a set of petals, string the together, and package it perfectly so that it looked like a rose!
It was great seeing my Shanghai friends again! The first night, Dave and I went to Le Garcon Chinois, a restaurant I’d been wanting to check out for ages because I thought it was silly: A French name about a Chinese man serving a mixture of Spanish and Vietnamese cuisine. That night I hung out with Dave’s group of assorted Europeans, where one bought me a rose from a vendor off the street. Surprisingly, when I opened the package it completely fell apart - the rose petals were simple held together in the shape of a rose by a piece of string! When I opened it, the vendor giggled and walked away.

Friday, my last day in Shanghai, I went yet again with my tea buddy Dave to a tea shop in Old Town where I relaxed back and sampled everything. I then spent a fortune and 2 hours in the post office mailing boxes to the US. That night, I tried kangaroo for the very first time at an Australian restaurant with Eric, followed by more Aussie-time spent with JJ, the bartender at Eric’s private bar. Stumbling home, Dave and I scrambled to make me a train and hotel reservation for the following day, when I would arrive late at night to Madrid. What a good friend.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb