Welcome to Shanghai, China!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 16th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So what does a 23 year old Canadian do when she finds herself living in China for 6 months? Why, she starts a travel blog of course! I've never had much interest in blogs before, never had any or read any. However upon finding myself on the other side of the world I've decided that this is the best way to keep in touch with friends and family back home.

My previous international travels include some amazing trips to Europe over the last 3 years, but this is officially my first time to Asia, and to China.

So why am I in China for 6 months? Well the official reason is to accompany my wonderful man, Ollie, my partner in life, on his temporary work assignment to Shanghai. Lucky for both of us my profession of contemporary dance allows me the flexibility to do such a thing. And an adventurous spirit doesn't hurt either.

So what do I hope to get out of 6 months living in a foreign country and culture? A lot, really. A greater understanding of life, of people, of the world, and of myself, ultimately. I hope that through this journey I grow as a person, I am inspired creatively for my dancing, I am able to learn basic and elementary Chinese language skills, and I have another shared experience with Ollie, and with the friends I meet and make along the way.

~ Jen


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb