The China Adventure Begins


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
July 13th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Picture 004Picture 004Picture 004

View of Pudong from the Bund
Just moved in to my apartment last weekend. I'm the area of Shanghai called XiTianDi, which is a renovated area on the border of the Old French Concession and the Old City. The metro is a few blocks away, which is convienent. There are a lot of nearby restaurants adn bar, even a English language movie theater. Here are a few pictures of the apartment.

I've also done a few of the tourist things. I went to the top of the Oriental Pearl Tower to get the bird's eye view of the place. I also walked around "The Bund", which is the ritzy around on the Puxi side of the river. The Huangpu River divides the city; Puxi is the western side and Pudong is the eastern side. I live in Puxi, but the Honeywell office is on the Pudong side. I even did the Bund sightseeing tunnel - which is a little tourist trap that takes you under the Huangpu River through a psychedelic journey. Both were okay to have done but I don't have any strong desire to do them again. The tunnel was actually a pretty quick way to cross the river. The tower views are cool
Picture 006Picture 006Picture 006

Magical mystery tour via the tourist sightseeing tunnel
but the place is a nightmare to get around in -at least when I went - a lot of people, long lines, etc.

Some observations: I'm just starting to figure out the traffic rules here. In some ways it resembles a giant game of chicken. Motorbikes are all over the place. There is right turn on red (no stopping, just full speed turns), left turn on red (after a slight hesitation), there is even a place where they make a left turn from the right side of the road (weird). Another different thing is queing - they don't do that here. If your trying to get on the metro, elevator, etc. they don't let people off people they try to get on, both sides just go as soon as the door open.

Also had my first business lunch out here. We took an overnight trip to Nanjing, a city a couple hours west of Shanghai. Lots of food - all good, but I only knew about 50% of what I was eating. Also your hosts, in order of status, will go around the table and have a drink with each of their guests. Good thing they have small
Picture 009Picture 009Picture 009

Oriental Pearl TV Tower
glasses.

Okay that enough for now. Hope everyone is doing well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Picture 011Picture 011
Picture 011

View from the tower
Picture 012Picture 012
Picture 012

View from the tower
Picture 014Picture 014
Picture 014

View from the tower
Picture 015Picture 015
Picture 015

View from the tower - I'd like to think the white/gray area is clouds not smog
Picture 017Picture 017
Picture 017

Living room of my apartment
Picture 018Picture 018
Picture 018

Guest bedroom - 1st visitor will need to bring sheets - just kidding
Picture 016Picture 016
Picture 016

View of the Old City from my balconey
Picture 019Picture 019
Picture 019

The parkview regency - my apartment complex


14th July 2008

Nice
I thought the tunnel was the best way to cross the river as well. There's also an old city a couple of hours outside Shanghai where there's canals and it almost looks like a Chinese version of Venice that was pretty cool to see... I'm sure your coworkers would know what I'm talking about... Sounds like you're enjoying your time there!
15th July 2008

Cluck Cluck
... never show your fear! ;)

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb