The Bund: Round 2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 18th 2008
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Thermo Week


This week was rather uneventful, consumed mostly by thermodynamics homework and a test on Wednesday. I even missed Chinese Cooking class in order to prepare for the exam. We were all worried because this is our first and only test before the final exam and it counts for 30%!o(MISSING)f our grade. Then, after long hours of preparation, the test turned out to be a piece of cake. Nikhail and I both got perfect scores, and half of the class got A's. It made me wish I hadn't studied so much!

Cat in a Drywall Roof


This week the Faculty Club had an unexpected guest on the 5th floor. It was a cat that somehow got stuck in the ceiling! It could be heard meowing in the hallway on the way to the elevator. Several students alerted the staff but they didn't seem too interested in helping until we realized they were going to hire someone to cut it out Thursday morning. I wasn't around for the rescue, but I did see the holes that were cut into the ceiling. For those of you who think the cat's next destination is a Chinese restaurant, I am going to take this opportunity to point out that I have never seen cat on a menu here. Believe me, Nikhail and I have looked very hard, but we haven't heard of a single place that serves cat. Supposedly there is a Korean restaurant nearby that serves dog, though.

Return to the Bund


Finally free of school work, I decided to go out Wednesday night with some friends. We went to the Cloud 9 bar on the 87th floor of the Jin Mao Tower, one of the tallest buildings in Shanghai. The view was amazing, but the drinks were expensive. Once everyone left I decided to go off on my own and take some pictures on the Bund.


The picture would have been nicer if all of the buildings were lit up, but that only happens on the weekends. Fortunately I'll be in Shanghai the weekend of the 20th so I should be able to get some nice shots, weather permitting.

After the Bund I tried to catch a taxi to People's Avenue so that I could take pictures of People's Square. I messed up, though, and told the taxi driver to take me to People's Road in Chinese, which is a completely different place. Once I realized my folly I pulled out my "Abort Card" with Chinese instructions to the Faculty Club and called it a night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb