In Flight


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
April 25th 2008
Published: April 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Leaving in a few hours. (2am limo pick-up) Lets see, did I remember everything? Passport, Visa, Boarding pass, change of clothes in my carry-on? Wait, I realized I packed too much! I focused on what I would really need: Suit, Shirts, Pants...do I really need 4 tee shirts and 10 pairs of socks? The right way to pack when traveling to China is to NOT BRING EVERYTHING YOU OWN!

I figure if I forgot anything, I could buy it there! It is the land of necessities! Sneakers? No problem! Gym socks, or an extra belt etc? , I will buy if I need to. (almost forgot my camera!)

I have been doing some reading: Dont drink the water out of the faucet in China, even in the 5-star hotels. Buy water, or boil it (hotplate to boil water supplied by Hotel). And only buy water in a convenience store, not from someone on the street.

I went to LaGuardia Airport at 3AM, and guess what- NO ONE WAS THERE! I had to hang out for 90 minutes. But when it was time, I went to the Gate for the flight to Chicago, which went very smooth.

The transfer of planes in O'Here went very nicely. I had a hour layover, so I checked out who my flught companions would be. Many American and Canadian business persons, but mostly Chinese families returning for holiday and to visit family.

We are taking a 747 behemoth. I have a Economy Plus seat (gives you 5 extra inches) It was definately worth it for the long 14 hour flight.

When I got on the flight. LUCKY ME! I have two open seats next to me, and they are all mine!!
I immediately set out to creat my space. Pillows, blankets, just like camping out! I make sure I eat every meal and drink lots of water.












Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb