Yu and Me Yuan


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
March 18th 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I tried looking for a part of the old wall- the original wall around ancient Shanghai. I didn't find it - but saw life in back lanes and alleys. Water comes from pipes on the outside of houses and I nearly walked into an outdoor public biffy. I was in the neighbourhood of the Yu Yuan Garden, so I stopped to find our tour group (I knew the approximate times of their itinerary). A ticket seller got Snow on his cell phone and he came and got me. The gardens are as Tranquil as I remembered. I wandered about, sat a bit, and then came across a stone path like the one in Victoria Park in Hong Kong. I couldn't help myself, my dogs were barking: I took off my shoes and walked on the raised stones. Snow came up behind me and said, "Ah, free foot massasge"! I tried to convince other to join me............

I left the gang to shop and made for the Temple of the Gods -- a Toaist temple. A monk was playing a flute and I was able to make a little tape recording. The music made the place magical and eerie. Eerie became downright spookie when I came across glass cases filled with dieties. One had arms coming out of the eye sockets!

I gave it one more shot to find the piece of city wall. I heard a man playing a flute - much like the monk in the temple. However, this man was selling flutes. He was playing a jaunty tune, and it being St Patrick's Day and all -- well I found myslef clogging to his playing. His wife joined me in dancing and it was more than a wee bit of fun. I kept walking and to call me back he started playing "Yankee Doodle Dandy". I shook my head and said, "Canda. No Americano". Oh well, he kept playing so I kept walking.

I found a view and took a photo I want to call "Usurped". It is a temple with high rises in the background that encroach upon the roof of the temple.

I found "the wall". I'm not saying it wasn't worth the miles I put on my runners, but it was a very small chunk. You can climb up the inside, but unless you read Chinese the exhibit is not worth the Y5. On the other hand, for 60 cents you can get a view of card games from above and see an inscription on the interior wall (or just look at my pictures of it). You can sneak a peak to the left and even get a good shot before the guy on the right tucked in behind a gate would ever notice you. If you go around the corner you see the whole thing from the street outside. I got my Y5 worth by sitting on a gorgeous wood chair with marble "paintings" on the back in a sort of shrine-like area.

The trip back to the hotel was uneventful. I stopped a number of people to find the way to the subway stop and finally ended up where I needed to be. The route was a tad circuitous for me and at one point I did think I was being led astray. If he'd veered towards a public toilet we passed I would have bolted! With a bit of quick walking I hit all my subway stops and the few blocks to the hotel. I was on time -- though not enough for even a face wash. I just dropped myy pack in my room and onto the bus. We had dinner (don't ask) and a show. It's the standard acrobatics show, but it ws good and even funny in parts. I'll tell you one of the tricks -- but it may cost you Y5 ;-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb