Quick Update


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 25th 2008
Published: February 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick update: Nothing special has happened for the past day or so. I met one of my neighbors- a Jewish German Israeli named Nir Meyers. Apparently my Schneider lineage is Jewish, who knew? We hung out for a while last night. Looks like I’m going to have a friend to get into trouble with…

This morning was a good one. Woke up early for breakfast, then went to see Wang Zheng who confirmed that Winthrop’s money order has come in and that I am good to go for the semester. He also gave me an envelope for my letter to Chen Xiao (Corona). From there I walked to the post office to send it, and since I was even closer to the stadium, I went to find the kung fu school that is rumored to exist there. I was pointed in about 5 different directions… when I was upstairs they pointed down, when I was downstairs they pointed up, etc. I never found it because I got tired of the circles, but I did find a cool martial arts store at the stadium and bought a staff for 15 Yuan. So the stares got even worse- a white boy walking through downtown Shanghai with a staff tucked under his arm…

My plan for the rest of the day? Well they’re supposed to activate my internet today, so I’m anxious about that, especially since its 2pm already. I’m going to go find a quick bite to eat then head to the library for a picture book on traditional Chinese food so I can start learning and talking about what I’m eating. Then I plan to study for the rest of the afternoon, and hopefully some of the other students I’ve been meeting will knock on my door this evening.

我姓谢,叫谢伯之。我是美国人。Cool I figured out how to make my computer write Chinese characters. This says Wo xing Xie,jiao Xie Bo Zhi. Wo shi Mei guo ren. (My name is Bobb Shields, I’m American.)

Zaijian.


Advertisement



29th February 2008

this is interesting stuff, keep it coming
1st March 2008

Yes a tall white boy with flaming hair of the west walking down the streets with a staff. Just another American kung fu movie! LoL

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb