Back in Shanghai with straight hair


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
October 6th 2007
Published: October 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Back in Shanghai. I had a good time in Xinjiang - I am so glad I went! China is so diverse - such different languages, cultures, climates, scenery, etc. Shanghai is like no other part of China. I was so fooled when I thought Shanghai is "China".

Xinjiang was dry, and parts very cold. The first time I've worn more than one layer outside. The trip back from Kashgar took almost 9 hours (I had a connecting flight). It's humid and hot here and my hair was frizzy again. I got a perm today, a straight perm, that is. I am pleased to say that I now have stick straight hair. It was a bit of an impulse perm. 😊 I also had an impulse buy - I bought a 2GB memory card for my camera. I don't want to have to limit my picture taking! 😊

I am off to Sichuan tomorrow and visiting Chengdu (home of pandas!) and then to Jiuzhaigou, supposedly China's most pristine National Park. I am going directly to Yunnan for 10 days, particularly to visit Yuanyang terraces and Lijiang. Since my visa expires after that, I am meeting my former coworker in Thailand and we'll travel to Cambodia together. 😊 Excited!

I told my ayi that I wouldn't need her to come for the next month since I wouldn't be at home. But asked her to come after I moved out so she could clean up for the next tenants. Then she asked me what I was going to do with the stuff I don't need (i.e. blankets, towels, rugs, etc) and I told her that if I can't pack it I'll leave it here and she can toss it or have it. Then she said, "Can I come the day before you leave? If I come after, the landlord will take it!" Sheesh, fiesty! I hardly doubt the rich landlord wants my used stuff.... but she actually asked if she could come over the day before I left to collect my unwanted items. So I guess I'll give her my old stuff.

Other: Watched "The Namesake" last week on dvd - great movie about an immigrant family from India. Watched "God Grew Tired of Us" about the Lost Boys of Sudan, a nice documentary. Also watched "Trust the Man" which was an awful David Duchovny movie. Finished reading "The Summons" by John Grisham, good read, predictable as usual.



Advertisement



15th October 2007

let's see the new hair!!

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0981s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb