The Bank (again)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
September 7th 2007
Published: September 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am trying to pay for my trip to Xinjiang, which is organized by the Chinese Culture Club. A portion of it needs to be prepaid in order to purchase plane tickets, reserve hotels, etc. If you don't have a China bank account, the money needs to be deposited into the tour company's account. Anyway, it has to be at Bank of China, China's most inefficient bank. I think Bank of China is a free bank, so it is the busiest. I got a number at 10:40 am and I didn't get my turn at the window until 1:30 pm. Yes, that would be nearly three hours. A three hour wait to make a deposit. OMG. Last time I thought 90 minutes to cash traveler's checks was bad.

This time I walked around while I waited. I had breakfast, got coffee and shopped AND ate a bag of chestnuts and still managed to wait an hour. I bought two coats and a top while I was shopping. I paid 5000 rmb for the trip deposit. Quite an expensive morning for me.

After the bank and Chinese lesson I went to PVG to pick up CL! She is visiting for the next 9 days! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.365s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 75; dbt: 0.2845s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb