What to buy?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 22nd 2007
Published: August 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Test: Phew... Chinese test went better than I expected. I don't know how to read a lot of the words without the romanization, but the excerpt that the teacher selected happened to be the lesson I studied the most. Phew. Goes to show how tests sometimes prove nothing about ability. Then I had to talk 5 minutes about what kinds of things in life bring us personal convenience, but also problems to society. And then another 3-5 minutes on my perspective about marriage, using some vocabulary words listed. That was pretty tough for me.

After my test I went shopping to find my grandmother a gift. Nearly everyone I surveyed suggested that I buy something silk, tea or moon cakes. It's mid-Autumn festival coming up in September. It took me forever to find the Silk Store (Silk King) on Guangyang Lu. I rode up and down the street while totally sweating. Yuk. The silk stuff was overpriced or not really special in anyway. I couldn't find anything, so I ended up with a manicure for myself instead. haha. Oh, and I went to a China version of Ross/Marshalls and bought a dress too. I think I'm the worst gift-giver. I always have a hard time finding "the perfect gift". Whenever I try to shop for other people I always end up wiht something for myself though!

It would be so much better if people flat out told me what they'd like me to bring for them. Readers: here's your chance. Any special requests?

I think we've almost finalized our "Scenic China" intinerary (I made that name up). I feel bad we're not incoporating "Historic China" in CL's trip here (i.e. Beijing, Xian), but I reason that China is impossible to see on a two week vacation anyway - so either way CL will have to come back. I hope that we enjoy these other parts so much that CL won't be thinking about the Forbidden City or Terracotta Warriors! 😊 haha. So the plan is that we are going to take a train to Hangzhou one day, bus to Huangshan 2 nights (1 night on the summit), Guilin (Longsheng/Yangshuo) 4 nights. I'm very excited. People usually say that those are the three most scenic places in China. However, lots of people also tell me they think that North America is far prettier than China. I'll have to see for myself!





Advertisement



27th August 2007

what to buy US!
show us some pics of stuff you bought to see if we want the same thing! :)

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 76; dbt: 0.1004s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb