A friend


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 12th 2007
Published: August 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"She's a friend" Cam says to another hairdresser with me standing right next to him. I think to myself "Friend? Since when are we friends?" but I don't say anything to him cause I know he'll be angry at me for asking him. It'll have to wait for a time when we're alone together, which will have to wait another 5 days at least. We've just arrived in Shanghai for a show of theirs. It should be an interesting time, i've been partnered up to hang out with his co-boss Hui who I really don't know at all, we practically never talk to each other. so the two of us are sharing a room together and the boys are in the other room. I mostly wish Hui weren't here so she wouldn't have to drag me around with her and I could do what I wanted when i wanted a bit more freely. I can't wait for a time when Cam and I can actually travel together - just the two of us. But if we don't end up getting to the US it's going to be a long time before that's possible. I asked Eason earlier about th "Friend" thing and he said that cam won't tell people he doesn't know very well that I'm his girlfriend simply because he doesn't know them. So what, since they're not close with him I'm also not close to him around them? i know it's a cultural thing but I'm confused. I'm currently sitting in a hotel room with nothing to do. I hate that. i think i'll go downstairs to read. I'm tired of being his wife at home and his friend outside. Hui introduced me as his girlfriend earlier and I could practically feel him cringe.

So looking back on this message that I wrote a couple days ago I must explain what happened afterwards. That night I ended up asking Cam about the friend thing and he ended up getting angry at me, as I predicted. In the end it was Hui who explained the friend thing to me. Yes, it is a cultural thing. They don't want someone who doesn't know them to get to know little things about them, they want to keep some things a secret so that person can't spread rumors about them. I asked if the same were true if we were married and she said probably not cause there would no longer be any rumors to spread. So that's probably the reason for a lot of the feeling like his friend outside the home. But Cam also told me that he wasn't cringing when Hui introduced him as my boyfriend. He has no problem with that. All in all i'm glad that I got to spend some time with Hui and Cam and I are getting to be a lot better outside the home as we both know where to stand a little bit more.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb