Ikea


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The apartment is furnished, but doesn't come with stuff like: wastebasket, towel, bath mat, pots/pans, chopsticks, paring knife.... etc.

I went to the cheapie supermarket and everything wasn't even that cheap, nor what I wanted, so I went to Ikea, which is a 10 min cab ride away. I bought: duvet, pillow cases, comforter, pillow, bedroom rug, bathroom rug (s), shower curtain, wastebasket, towel, kitchen rug, kitchen towel, tea kettle, drinking glass/plates, knife. Guess how much?

I still need a matress pad, some better sheets, a pot or pan. I forgot to mention in my hotel posts: the beds are rock hard here. The sheet is slippery without a mattress pad. Ugh, I'm trying to be frugal about only buying necessities... do you know what is expensive here? Hangers. They are more than in the US - five for a dollar! Robbery!

Other: I got my first mosquito bite (very itchy), I still have this smoker's cough, I zapped my flat iron (it's the incorrect voltage! wahhh!). Should I get another straightener? The one I destroyed from home was over $120 USD. A decent one is not cheap here either. Since the plugs/voltage is diff, it would be a pain to bring a China one home. Grr.


Advertisement



25th June 2007

awh
i'm bummed about your hair straightener too! might as well get one there.... send me ur address, i'll mail hangers to you! =)
28th June 2007

my guess is...you bought everything for $50! you seem to like to mention how much things cost. i have to read your posts with a calculator so i convert to USD.
29th June 2007

iron
NOOO! don't buy a cheapie MIC flat iron. just wear a pony tail!
29th June 2007

how much did you spend at ikea?
29th June 2007

Ikea
I spent over $150 USD at Ikea! I bought a $4 USD flat iron and it sucks. Oh well, it's so hot here, I don't really ever keep my hair down.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb