What luck!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 10th 2005
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Canal Cities and Holy Mountains

Shanghai - Suzhou - Nanjing - Jihuashan - Huangshan - Tunxi (Yixian, Shexian) - Shaoxing - Shanghai (Zhouzhuang)

I told my boss I'd be gone for two weeks. Already entitled to a week off for Obon, I registered for a further five days off. In fact, I was gone for four weeks. "Have you seen, Kevin," my boss asked my colleagues. As agreed, they quickly changed the topic or quickly exited the room, feigning a small bladder or a school visit. Funny enough, when I went to catch my return flight, it was cancelled due to a typhoon.
My vacation began in Shanghai. The plane circled over the coast, descending beneath the clouds, playing in the afternoon rays of light, reflecting off the muddy China Sea. A young Japanese boy in the seat in front of mine, looked out his window, "Chugoku... Chugoku... Chugoku." He was discovering a foreign country for the first time. I learned on this trip that most Chinese refer to their country as Zhongguo, although the term refers historically to the Middle Kingdom provinces that after some 300 years of war (Spring and Autumn and Warring States periods), were united under the Qin dynasty.
For the first couple nights I stayed at an inexpensive and central YH just off Renmin Square. What a dump though!
Shanghai MuseumShanghai MuseumShanghai Museum

In the August heat, People's Square becomes festooned with tourists and locals seeking a cool stroll
I picked up a gross itchy foot thing in the showers and courtesy of a spicy street side noodle shop around the corner, my poop was lime green for a day! My roommate was cool though. He and I went for dinner nearby where the restaurant was playing some star search show on TV. I later read in the newspapers, that it was the most watched TV show ever, EVER! A Chinese friend commented about its popularity, saying that viewers could phone in to vote on their favourite performer, so it was seen as a kinda democratic activity. This didn't stop me from enjoying the sights, a cruise up the Huangpu River, a tour of the Shanghai Museum, several strolls through the antique markets and elbowed my way through the crowds in the Old City, people watching along the Bund and sipping lattes in the Old French Concession. In fact, I spent a whole two days focused on antiques and came away with two late Qing wood tables. Beware the good deals you may find. The price of shipping, especially to Canada, is phenomenal.
I met a cute Malay guy on the internet personals and ended up moving into his
People's Square, ShanghaiPeople's Square, ShanghaiPeople's Square, Shanghai

relief from the hot day
spacious apartment in the Old French Concession area. He was starting his own service in the entertainment biz, organizing nightly events at various clubs and bars around town. I met all his beautiful friends, models mostly and young entrepreneurs from France and Germany. I got in free to a number of glitzy venues and rather than feel like an awkward backpacker, by night, I chose something fashionable from the diva's wardrobe. Thanks again to the internet personals, I contacted a couple other foreigners working in town. I partied with several of them over one weekend, dining on superb Cantonese, dancing and drinking in some bars around Renmin Square, and smoking my favourite kind of cigarette in a high-rise flat with a view across the river to Pudong.
In total, I probably spent close to two weeks in and around Shanghai, including a day-trip out to Zhouzhuang and a few days stay in Suzhou.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Ming Vase, Shanghai MusuemMing Vase, Shanghai Musuem
Ming Vase, Shanghai Musuem

takes your breath away - Shanghai Museum is perhaps the most beautifully displayed art museum in China
Shanghai skyline sketchShanghai skyline sketch
Shanghai skyline sketch

yes, the people are upside down - it illustrates the process of the opticl nerve - and how the eye actually sees an inverted reflection in the back of the eye but our brains reorganize the information
Xintiandi - "a theme park for Yuppies"Xintiandi - "a theme park for Yuppies"
Xintiandi - "a theme park for Yuppies"

the end of the world is upon us
me, Zhouzhuangme, Zhouzhuang
me, Zhouzhuang

i never realized my hat looked like a gazebo


Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 137; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb