Local Market and More Family-style eats


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Xujiahui
May 21st 2009
Published: May 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

To the market!

Route through the market is the last two (yellow and red) points. Red marker is where the French style family restaurant was

Joey mentioned he was hungry around 6pm, so him, Brandon, Helen, Cherry, I and two other students headed out passing a bakery and then deciding to hit up the family style place we tried earlier. While trying to find it from a new route, we actually came across the most residential area I've seen yet in Xuhui. There were a few locals sitting out with Chinese checkers sets waiting for a component and a local market straight ahead. I'll need to grab some pictures next time, cause I've never seen anything like it before in-person. Cherry (from Taiwan) said it was just a regular market. There were at least a hundred different little stands and people out with food or other goods just laying on a towel on the ground for sale. I've seen several small street markets like this here, but not one this big. There was also a supermarket/convenience store and a decent fish market.

The girls were tired of walking, and Joey was starved, so we hit up the first sit-down restaurant after the market. Turned out it was another family-style restaurant with a rotating disk on the table! We shared a few dishes including a pig-skin soup and either fried squid or frog - Cherry ordered it. They asked for some water (I always just carry my own bottle now) and the waitress brought out this bright pink canteen filled with boiled, and hence hopefully clean water. On the way back, we hit up a bakery called 85 C (degrees celsius) and had some great interesting sweets - one chewy chocolate muffin thing, a twister, and blueberry pudding danish! All delicious





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Local MarketLocal Market
Local Market

Small view of the local market at night
Tight billboard-size keyboard on the side of a buildingTight billboard-size keyboard on the side of a building
Tight billboard-size keyboard on the side of a building

We confused this school internet cafe for a public one, haha
Internet Cafe in XuhuiInternet Cafe in Xuhui
Internet Cafe in Xuhui

Ethan and I tried looking for somewhere for Wifi, but umm internet cafes are only stationary units and are basically computer arcades for the locals - lots of WoW


25th May 2009

Hello Kitty Thermos
They honestly boil the water they give you and we ........don't have trust issues? Don't lose your canteen son. In fact if I were you I'd get on E-Bay right now and buy them out.
26th May 2009

...
It's not My canteen, ha, just one the restaurant put water in to serve us. I just carry around my nalgene bottle with me everywhere. Oh and that's the only restaurant I've run into yet that boils the water. Two others that I asked for water served it to me and it was fine

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb