Shanghai Surprise


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Xujiahui
October 17th 2008
Published: October 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Talk about a whirlwind. Had an interesting flight in Business Class on China Eastern. Needless to say, I was the only Caucasian in business class. I was looking forward to relaxing but the state of the plane and the fact that the flight attendants struggled with English made for an interesting ride. Eventually I did arrive safe and sound, so no complaints. The hotel was gorgeous. If ever in Shanghai office area, I highly recommend the Parkyard. I lucked out with a two room suite. So, I settled in for the night and realized I was not in the least bit sleepy. Something about a 12 hour time difference. So, I headed to the spa for a relaxing soak. The rest of the team arrived after me and we headed to dinner. I didn't expect this as it was already 9pm. Great dinner-especially the spicy green beans. One of the lessons I learned in Beijing and brought forward with me...always stick with the vege dishes. Usually can be identified. Of course, that went by the wayside when I tried the bitter melon. Tastes just as it sounds. Oh well--not a fork in sight--so chopsticks were used for the noodles and the rice. Fun.

After the deal, we went for a stroll on the Bund. We took the subway there which was unbelievably cheap. I think it was 50 cents or so. Very easy to get around as most signs are also in English. Beats Beijing yet again. The weather was marvelous and we had another great dinner. This time it was a seafood buffet. I won't even try and describe the creatures I saw. It really is a sight to see. Needless to say, I stuck with fruit and ice cream 😊


The skyline is magnificent. Unfortunately, I didn't bring my camera that night. The skyline is ablaze with color. Absolutely a sight to see. One side of the Pu river is old English gorgeous architecture and the other side is all new tall skyscrapers. The tallest and second tallest buildings in the world. Amazing. Great timing I have! Last year I was at Taipei 101 when it was the tallest. Now I am in Shanghai, just in time for this building to be crowned the tallest! It was truly amazing. Looks like a giant can opener. Check out the pics. Its green and at night it has lights that sparkle and make it look like water is dripping down the sides. Very cool. There was also a Johnnie Walker party we debated about crashing. Instead, we were able to enjoy the fireworks on the Pu and listen to the live music as well. Truly great timing on our part.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb