the sandals go one by one


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Qingdao
July 25th 2006
Published: July 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This is a eulogy for my shoes. I was in the airport bathroom two nights ago when I got back from Beijing. There were stalls and sit down toilets just like in America! I was sitting down doing my thing when something splashed on my foot. I looked to my left and reflected in the pool of liquid on the floor was a grandmother pulling up her five or so year old grandchild's pants, having just stood up from sitting on the toilet. I said to myself, I sure hope that puddle that splashed on me isn't pee. I went back out in the hallway and asked my friend who said, "Yeah, they do that all the time. The grandma uses the toilet while the kid uses the floor, it saves time." My new pair of Tevas were laid to rest on August the 22nd.

The next day we went to eat Korean Barbeque. Wonderful stuff, by the way. If they have it in the U.S. you should go get some! I was wearing my older pair of leather sandals since my Tevas died the night before. At least I had one more pair, right? So we get up to leave and I realize my feet are stuck together. I look down and there is a wad of gum stretched from one shoe to another. It's almost like getting your shoelaces tied together but stickier! Of course, those were the last of my sandals for the nice summer heat. There's a Murphy's law for you!

Resurrection of the shoes: The Tevas were resurrected from the dead after a good scrubbing and a day of drying out. The old pair of sandals are still a bit sticky.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb