Life in Qingdoa


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Qingdao
December 3rd 2008
Published: December 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We were at the lab part of the day just working on a manuscript for another graduate student, but that stuff really isn’t the good stuff. It was everything else that is more fun. We left for Qingdoa today, which is the hometown of the professor I’m working with here in China. Qingdao is along the Pacific Ocean and is also where the sailing portion of the Olympics was held. There were Beijing Olympic flags and statutes everywhere. For lunch we met with the China National Games committee (more eating and toasting). For dinner we did more of the same (eating and toasting), but this time with director of the China National Games—way too much for me! All we do is eat (and toast), which gets tough. I always have poor Grace toast for me. I feel guilty not toasting because they are such gracious hosts, and I feel guilty toasting because I don’t understand what they are saying to me…it’s that rock and hard place thing. Though, outside of all the rules for eating, such as who sits where, how many toasts before others can toast, who toasts in what order, etc, etc, I sometimes forget that I’m in China.
My new hotel in QingdaoMy new hotel in QingdaoMy new hotel in Qingdao

It's really nice, and very Western...Two things I like!
It is only when I see the China flag that I remember. I think we are going to really nice places to stay and eat, and I would really like to see how the other half of the country lives. I’m thinking I’m getting the goods that most of the country does get to have or experience.

This evening we played cards a bit. They taught me Chinese poker (a cross between Pitch, Poker, and Tic), and I taught them American Poker and Blackjack—games more my style. They have also taught me to count to 5 now. One to three I could do before I came to China, but the last two days I’ve managed to learn 4 and 5—I am sooo moving up in this world! I probably know about 2 dozen words and phrases in Chinese!! They keep saying they are going to teach me to speak, but I think I’m a poor student…look how long it’s taken me to get 1-5! Tomorrow we are going to visit the Polar Ocean (Sea World Antarctica/Alaska), and then I believe we are heading to another city for the discus testing.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Meet GraceMeet Grace
Meet Grace

One of my hosts (and roommate too) while I'm in Qingdao.
In deep concentration...In deep concentration...
In deep concentration...

My hosts are pondering what's out there across that big ole ocean--they keep asking about coming to the US. And, I tell them, of course I would host them--they are amazing!
DinnerDinner
Dinner

(unfortunately)
USA, USA, USAUSA, USA, USA
USA, USA, USA

There were all the country flags at the sailing arena (is that what they're called?). Ah...back home in the US!


3rd December 2008

hey
Judee!! Hope you are having fun in Qingdoa. It's great here in Chongqing!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb