Back in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Ji'Nan
February 9th 2008
Published: February 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A Civilized StrideA Civilized StrideA Civilized Stride

I saw this in the Jinan airport when I got home from my original home, New York. I think this means 'don't pee on the floor.' But correct me if I'm wrong.
I just returned to the United States for the first time since moving to China three and a half years ago. My father, brother and sister and I met in Manhattan which we consider our spiritual home, though we moved to California when my siblings and I were in elementary (primary) school.

I did not, as I suspected I might, suffer from any reverse cultural shock. I felt perfectly at home in New York and spent my week there eating my way through the city. I do love Chinese food, but I like being able to choose Chinese food rather than having to settle for it. In New York I tried to incorporate as many country's cuisines into my diet as possible, but was mainly concerned about eating a sufficient number of hot dogs with and slices of pizza as I could in between real meals. When I saw my family for the first time I was rather composed. I think I must of said something that came across as, "Hey, nice to see you." But when I had my first bite of hot dog with sauerkraut and mustard, I nearly cried.

It was, however, wonderful to see my nuclear family. My mother died after we moved to California so we still think of New York when we remember her and us as a complete family. It's not that we really blame California for her death. It's just that the memories of New York are not tainted with such sorrow. They were happy and hopeful times. New York is one of my favorite cities in the world. It has some of the best food, music, art, theater architecture...well, just about everything, in the world. And yet, I missed my dirty, noisy, Chinese city, Jinan. I know this wasn't sounding like a travel blog, but I traveled to New York, and have now traveled back to China.

I was overwhelmed by New York's magnificence, but I'm glad to be back in China. I have traveled all over the U.S. and been to a dozen or so other countries. But China is where I live, and wherever I hang my hat is home. People also say home is where the heart is and, although I love my family, I love a young lady named Bao ling as well, and she is in China. When I went to the U.S. last week, she and I both had the most curious feeling. We felt the distance. Even though we currently reside in different cities, we still live in the same country. But when I flew over the globe to New York, we could sense that we were more physically separated than ever. During my entire stay in New York, I experienced the subtle sensation of being apart from my new life. Although I was quite happy to be reunited with my family, I felt somewhat incomplete. Bao is a part of me in a way that no one ever has been before.

Travel is not always where you go and what you see, but where and what you've left behind.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb