National Holiday Week - and I'm going to be famous


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
October 8th 2006
Published: October 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Artemis the CutieArtemis the CutieArtemis the Cutie

She used to be size of a credit card, now she chews them
So, this week was a week off, National Day turns into National Week. Had lots of plans to go hiking and camping, then came down with a horrible cold, so stayed in bed with a hot water bottle and watched the full two seasons of House MD while Artemis made me hot lemon and honey. Got a call on the Friday at ten pm from one of my students asking me what we were going to be doing tomorrow. Apparently, classes get rescheduled for the weekend when there are holidays. I asked her if she really wanted to go into school on a Saturday, because I didn't. She ummed and ahhed, then said that no, she would prefer to go home a day earlier. This is my mode of communication from the department, they ask the students to tell me things. Sod that for a laugh!

Thursday night, I got a call from Jocelyn asking if I wanted to be in a film. They were starting shooting at 7.30am the next day. They needed foreigners to play diplomats at the main character's father's funeral. Or, as I was a woman, I would have to be a diplomat's wife, not being capable enough to be a fully functioning, autonomous being. It sounded like fun, plus an extra 200 yuan for a few hours work, so I met them at 7.30 the next day. A lot of hanging about, luckily there were lots of children who were going to be mourners at this funeral, so we played and chatted. Met an English woman and an Australian girl who had been here for about three hours before she was told about this. I think it was a good introduction to China. Saw two famous Chinese actors, stood a lot, tried not to flinch and ruin the shot when the guns went off in tribute to the dead bloke. And tried not to giggle when the camera went in for close-ups of the foreigners. We got fed and everything, it was a real laugh, despite not actually being used until 3.30, eight hours after we got there.

Am waiting to be discovered...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Important film thingsImportant film things
Important film things

You wouldn't understand
Two soldiers and a monkTwo soldiers and a monk
Two soldiers and a monk

Also ac-tors. There was a lady on hand to shave all the monks heads. I wonder what her title will be on the credits
Three diplomats at a funeralThree diplomats at a funeral
Three diplomats at a funeral

I think they thought it was a Tarantino film


9th October 2006

Not exactly spooks!
Will look out for release of spectacular film! Carrot still not impressed with usurper! Mummy xxx
10th October 2006

I knew you would make it big one day ;-)

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb