Xi´An , The Ancient Capital of China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
November 25th 2014
Published: November 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I went to Xi'An for the May 1st long weekend 2014. I hadnt written a blog so here is a short update with photos. I flew late night from Dalian to Xi'An and arrived by local bus to my hostel. I was feeling a little sick and sneezing, wheezing, coughing and ended up having a cold so I slept for most of the day on my first day. I wandered around the Muslim headquarters, tried some good spice food (in spite of the nasal congestion I could still try the spices in the food), wandered through the Bell and Drum towers and got lost in the alleys of the old city shopping for souvenirs and sightseeing, The next day I took the tour to the Terracotta Warriors Army. The first part was ok and overly priced just to see a really small tomb. The second part was way too cool to see the excavations and restorations of the the 5000terracotta warriors. I saw the man ,a farmer about 85 yea rold owner of the farm where they found the warriors and paid the in the 70s about 100 yuan. It was a little sad to see him being used as a tool to buy a book and souvenirs. We ate a traditional family Chinese restaurant it was good, but their bathroom was disgusting and I had to use it . The night I spent it at the hostal chatting with people from all over the world, making new friends and cooking and eating dumplings. The next day I was still recovering from my cold and I took a subway ride with an American guy and a British girl to see the Big and Small Goose Pagodas, and explore the city. We walked all day and ended up eating street food for dinner at the Muslim headquarters. The next morning I woke up early and headed by bus to the City Wall where I rented a bike and rode on the ancient wall . it was a warm and humid day but with a small breeze. I explore the wall and then had to rush back to catch a bus back to the hostel to get my backpack and fly back to Dalian.

Xi'An is a great city and there is lots of hiking to do around it I did not hike it but Mr, Huashang is supposed to be really cool for a day or 2



Here are a few shots of Xi'An.


Additional photos below
Photos: 305, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb