Ni Hao! (From Across the World...)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
May 29th 2011
Published: May 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We are all safely in China, in the apartment in the middle of the city! And we have a nice wi-fi connection in the apartment!

The travel was all just dandy, no problems, uneventful. So cool to be in the middle of a huge, ancient, Chinese city! First impressions: I feel crippled by my lack of reading and speaking skills. The air looks
and smells veeeeeery polluted. The apartments are nice, but not quite as nice as I was expecting. Though I wasn't expecting a good, free wi-fi connection! I'll take the swap. The ride from the airport was a
little crazy (not too many observed traffic laws...). Though, I think our driver honked more than anyone else on the road. The rest of our Army group (the West Pointers and our officer-in-charge, OIC) seems
pretty cool. Haven't really had a chance to get to know them yet though. And I'm in China! This city is huge, bright, foreign...I'm so excited to start exploring! It's looking like we're gonna have lots of
free time to experience the city as we wish. And this upcoming weekend we're planning to fly to Beijing and spend a couple days! The weekend after that, a visit to Hong Kong was hinted at...

Tuesday we begin our volunteer placement. Most of us, including myself, will be working 2 hours, Monday-Friday, at a Kindergarten. I believe our job will essentially be to speak quality English, for the
benefit of both the children and the teachers. It gonna be zoppity!

God has blessed me with an amazing opportunity to experience China and be a light for Him among this group of Army cadets!

Afterthought: I'm exactly 12 hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time. I woke up just an hour ago, and you haven't even gone to bed yet. Crazy...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb