Xian & Little Goose Pagoda


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
November 5th 2010
Published: November 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We left Beijing very early (5.15 from the hotel to get to the airport for an 8.30 flight because of the traffic!!) Then it was a 2 1/2 hour flight to Xian. Interesting breakfast on the plane - congee and a "Chinese Hamburger" and a boiled egg in soy sauce - loved the burger (interesting type of bread and a type of corned meat I think) and the egg but only took one mouthful of the congee - but at least I tried it.

After landing we went straight to the Little Goose Pergoda - what an amazing piece of engineering. Apparently it is build on a large ball (of what I don't know) which is under the ground and they believe that this is the reason that it has survived 3 earthquakes with only minor damage. It was built by a Chinese monk who spent 25 years in India and bought the concept back - set in lovely grounds and now houses a school for calligraphy. We bought a beautiful rice paper painting which both of us loved as soon as we saw it.

After the pergoda we went to the Xian museum - second best museum in China we were told - the best one in Beijing is closed for 2 years for renovations. It was hard to get a lot out of the museum because there wasn't a lot of information in English so you really didn't understand what you were looking at. The museum focuses on the 3 dynasties that ruled from Xian when it was the national capital. Finally managed to make a phone call back to Australia and spoke to Kat which was lovely - Matt didn't answer his phone though and we still haven't heard from him - Kat tells me he is fine but I will be happier if I get an email.

After the museum we checked into our very flash hotel (with internet that works!!!!) but I didn't have very long online before we had to go out for a dumpling banquet - absolutely amazing variety of dumplings with different fillings and I had my first glass of rice wine - very nice - could have had quite a few more of those! After dinner there was s show of Tang dynasty dancing. Another very long day but I just had to get online and publish the info that I typed on the plane in the morning. I intend to go back and flesh my stories out with a bit more detail now that I have some time to myself - so watch this space. Hopefully I can get the photos to upload this time!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb