Xian's Ancient Cultural Street of the Academy Gate


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
May 30th 2008
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hua Pagoda at the Baoqing TempleHua Pagoda at the Baoqing TempleHua Pagoda at the Baoqing Temple

The pagoda is all that remains of the ancient Temple built here in the Sui Dynasty.

Xian's Ancient Cultural Street of the Academy Gate




Xian's Ancient Cultural Street is a shopping street that runs along Xian's ancient city wall, and ends at the Confuscian Temple that is now Xian's stele museum.


I know what you're thinking. Ugh! Another tourist trap, theme park, shopping street. I have to tell you that I hate those places more than you could possibly imagine. This street is different. If it was not, I would certainly not add it to my blog. This street is lined with beautifully restored ancient buildings. They are not cheap imitations, but are covered with hand carved bricks, and their details are exquisite. The street is paved with stones, and is really beautifull.


The shops along this street sell not crappy tourist things, but actual works of art. There are traditional Chinese art supply shops, and many of them have people sitting out front hand crafting Chinese paint brushes for visitors to see. The things sold on this street are of the highest quality, and the prices are very reasonable. There are shops selling jade, fans of all varieties, traditional Chinese musical instruments, antiques, papercuts, xun which is an ocarana
Academy Gate Academy Gate Academy Gate

This gate is the entrance to the Ancient Cultural Street in Xian
native to Xian. I saw a couple of men carving the black clay Xun and their carvings were beautiful. I bought a couple of them. They are actually itting on my bookshelves in front of me as I write this. I am a bit of an artist, so I bought a lot of handmade art supplies, as well as fans. I bought a ton of stuff.


I was really impressed not only with the street and architecture, but with the items being sold. It was very nice stuff. If you want some souveniers that are not just mass produced junk, I highly recommend stopping on this street. You'll find one of a kind items that you can't find anywhere else and again, the prices are reasonable. Even for China.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Ancient Cultural StreetAncient Cultural Street
Ancient Cultural Street

This street's shops are beautiful and the items they sell are equally as beautiful as the buildings that surround them.
An Ancient ScholarAn Ancient Scholar
An Ancient Scholar

Located at the entrance to the ancient academy located beside the Ancient Cultural Street this statue is of an ancient scholar.
Ancient AcademyAncient Academy
Ancient Academy

This is the main gate to the ancient academy located beside the Ancient Cultural Street.
Beautiful GateBeautiful Gate
Beautiful Gate

This is the entrance to a shop that wasn't open when I visited. I thought it worthy of a photo anyhow.
Xian's City Wall in the BackgroundXian's City Wall in the Background
Xian's City Wall in the Background

The Ancient Cultural Street runs along Xian's Ancient City walls. In the background of the photo, you can see the wall, being restored.
A Small Dump TruckA Small Dump Truck
A Small Dump Truck

I just thought this little thing was so funny it warrented a photo.
Stone Lion Outside the Confuscian TempleStone Lion Outside the Confuscian Temple
Stone Lion Outside the Confuscian Temple

This is a stone lion garding the Confuscian Temple. Now the Temple has been turned into a museum of ancient stele.


10th June 2008

Did you use a tour guide or visit yourself? I'm teaching English in Shanghai, and I really want to visit Xi'an, but my Chinese isn't very good. Is it easy to travel there speaking only English?
10th June 2008

Tour Guide
I used a tour company. I traveled with China Odyssey Tours. I always do. I just find it easier. It is possible to get around on your own, but I find when I do, I always end up missing things that a local guide could have helped me find.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb