And I'm Back


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
April 25th 2007
Published: April 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Look at me, not being censored for a few brief minutes and being able to access travelblog. I think I may have clicked on something I shouldn't have a while ago. Or maybe travelblog is deemed sensitive material by those in the know in China. Anyway.

Buckets of things have happened since I last updated. In January, we were asked back by the film crew on the 'Xian Incident'. This time, we were very important reporters form the 1940's. The scary director man looked at me, and asked Joakim if I could speak Chinese. He said it was getting to be vaguely passable, so long as I was only ordering noodles. A 15 page script was thrust into my hands. I looked pleadingly as Jocelyn, and we tried to catch the eyes of any one who looked vaguely more important than us. Eventually, the bloke who carries the water bottle of the stand-in for the main actor took pity on us, and came over and pointed out which character I was. The vice-director-in-chief-of-being-shouty shouted that I could speak in English if I wanted, as it would be dubbed regardless. I asked Joc how long, roughly, the Chinese text lasted, so I could gauge my English gobbledegook accordingly. It was decided it would be hilarious if I could ask the very important actor playing an even more important army guy about his favourite doughnut dipping method, or maybe the state of his prostate. Imagining gales of laughter form the assorted laowai (foreigners), I prepared probably the funniest question that ever would have graced CCTV 1, especially in a film about the end of the civil war and the coming together against the Japanese attack. I waited for my cue, stood...and froze. What I had failed to realise is that the actor (Hu Jun) playing the important army guy is absolutely gorgeous. He smiled at me, and nodded, so I stuttered my way through some tripe about the hypogalactic-ness of the Chinese, and by the way, your uniform looks lovely. It was the most amazing piece of acting you will probably ever see. The film was supposed to be out in March, but isn't out yet. Probably they are trying to wipe my part. Or trying to work out how they can make the other actors not seem so terrible in comparison to my complete embodiment and impeccable portrayal of some laowei reporter. Maybe.

What else. Had 6 weeks break from the end of January to February, so I went to Thailand for some warmth. I shall post some pics from that later.

All is still well and good here. I shall post again soon, but don't want to push my luck at the moment, so will hurry and post this before anyone comes knocking at my door!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb