Huashan - East Peak: My Favorite Chinese Sunrise


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Hua Shan
June 20th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Sunrise 5 secs
2: Fuller Sunrise 11 secs
3: Daybreak 21 secs
DaybreakDaybreakDaybreak

Sun just starting to light up the sky around 5-5:30am
(Huashan Hike Continued)
Instead of waiting at the actual peak, I followed along a more precarious path to a more isolated location. I picked out a spot and then searched for some shelter, it was sooo cold. There was a hotel about 15 minutes walk away where I saw a group of girls huddled together in a hallway, haha, but I decided to bear it outside right at my spot to get the full experience (and not accidentally fall asleep) and not miss the sunrise.

I enjoyed the night view over the villages, valleys, and few lights that I could see below. I don't know any other word but "majestic" (again) to use to describe it. I made a make-shift tent with my poncho between two rock (almost a crevice) and ate my muffins and kiwi while listening to my music. Grey light began appearing aroudn 4:15am, but it was nothing special. Somewhere between 4:30am and 5:30am I fell asleep, not sure where, ha, but when I woke up there was one other person near my location so I decided to get up and move around to stay warm. I waited as the sun slowly began to play with the
East PeakEast PeakEast Peak

Looking East off of it of course
colors of the sky, making them scenic enough for a picture. I met a British couple and a guy Iowa State while on the peak.

I believe it was around 6:15-30am that I finally noticed the sun peeking over the clouds/mist. Aww crap, I forgot to take a video...wait nevermind, yeah I did, haha. Basically the sunrise was beautiful, period. After enjoying the sunrise (still in the frigid weather) for a few hours, I headed toward West Peak starting at 7am.

(See next blog for rest of Huashan experience)



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Sun still not showing it's faceSun still not showing it's face
Sun still not showing it's face

I hope this doesn't turn into another disappointment like back at Huangshan
Sky is such a rich blue!Sky is such a rich blue!
Sky is such a rich blue!

Bluest sky I have yet to see in China
..
.

Put my camera on a different setting and it looks more like a sunset now, ha
AhmazingAhmazing
Ahmazing

Yep, I was quite satisfied


9th November 2009

I was just here last night with two of my friends- we're American students studying in Xi'an. I saw the clearest sky I've ever seen and the most beautiful sunrise I've ever seen. Definitely worth the climb! Just be careful! It can be dangerous.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb