Wandering Around


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Qinghai » Jyekundo/Yushu
August 16th 2013
Published: August 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

Last day in Yushu. With nothing to do for the day I did some walking. In the morning I walked up the mountain side to where there is some Tibetan writing. It was done with white stones. Unfortunately I don't know what it says and I've found very few people here who can speak English so I can't ask anyone. It was lovely to sit and look out over the city. With the altitude here, 3300 metres (10,824 ft), it was a real struggle to get up there.

After lunch I went for a walk in the north-western part of the city. I found a huge prayer wheel, a chorten, some mani stones and a really big chorten that had again earthquake damage. This chorten was in a park which appeared to double up as a place for young people to go drinking beer, there were beer bottles everywhere.

The people here have been exceptionally friendly and I wish everyone in Yushu a prosperous future in their newly constructed city.

Enjoy the photos

Jah Bless


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb