The "Real" China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Liaoning » Fuxin
August 17th 2007
Published: August 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Miao's FamilyMiao's FamilyMiao's Family

This is when we took a walk near Miao's parent's home. Her father is a police officer.
Hi Everybody, can't talk long. I am in Fuxin with Miao and her parents. We are staying in their apartment and we have basically been eating every lunch and dinner with various relatives... it has been very interesting. They have been very gracious to me and treat me very well. It is really nice in this city. It is small, but very populated. For the blog, I have pictures only this week, as I have been very busy with social commitments. I did film a short 10-second video for a Gmail contest on YouTube at a big square in this city with a Mao statue.

If you really want you can see the short video JUST CLICK HERE.

Today we take a 15 hour sleeper-train ride to Beijing, stay one night, then take a 12-hour sleeper-train to Taiyuan to meet up with my buddy Jun. We met Jun earlier in my trip in Dalian, but now we will be staying for 3 days in his very historic city.

After Taiyuan we go back to Beijing for 3 nights and then I am home, back to studying accounting at UNO.

Take care everyone and have a great one!

P.S.
Miao's GrandfatherMiao's GrandfatherMiao's Grandfather

We took a trip to the countryside this week to visit Miao's 87 year-old Grandfather. He is also a great-grandfather of two. He gets around quite well with a cane, and was smiling a lot at me.
I am wearing the Hawaiian shirt from my friend Bret's wedding every day here in Fuxin, because Miao's parents LOVE it, and they wash it every night so I can wear it the next day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Self portraitSelf portrait
Self portrait

I took this picture with Miao's family using the self-timer mode on the camera. The clothes I am wearing are a gift from Miao's mother. She had them made custom for me at a sewing shop. It is a red coat and black pants.
Miao and I at a local restaurantMiao and I at a local restaurant
Miao and I at a local restaurant

Yesterday we went to eat at this restaurant that has an indoor garden and stream and birds and stuff. The place was closed for a private wedding party, so we just relaxed for a minute and took some pictures.
Miao's parents at the restaurantMiao's parents at the restaurant
Miao's parents at the restaurant

I took this picture of Miao's parents.


18th August 2007

happy
It makes my heart sing to see you so happy, Joe!

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1009s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb