There is nothing more attractive than....


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jilin » Changchun
October 18th 2009
Published: October 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On the way back from breakfast today, I was reminded of one of the special Chinese customs that I have not written about up to this point. I thought it would be good to write about it before it seems to mundane to me. I see it everywhere, except in my classroom. On the streets, in the hallways, and some market areas. In fact many times just the sound of it reminds me of what we are missing in the US.

So today as I was walking back to the teachers buidling from the dining hall. There was a Chinese woman walking toward me. She closely resembled one of our building supervisors. So I wanted to say "Good Morning" but also wanted to make sure it was her. As she got closer I realized this was not the person I thought and then it happened.

I am sure it was her, a petite woman, maybe 5 ft 3 inches tall 100 lbs. If I only had a video camera so I could prove it. Some of you will not believe me. Please reference the picture to make sure you have the mental picture correct. The sound starts in her feet and as the flem builds in her throat it reaches full volume, then out comes a huge loogie. I keep picturing John Belushi as Blutarsky in Animal House. It maybe the secret to so many Chinese staying small. They drop a few ounces many times a day.

Advertisement



18th October 2009

EWWWWW!
Are YOU kidding? What do their streets, hallways, and stores look like if everyone is spitting all over the place? Id be wiping off my shoes constantly. . .
19th October 2009

Not everyone
Maybe I exaggerate a little for the humor of it, and because when I hear the sound of someone hacking one it reminds me. Really the worst is walking on the street, or you are riding in a cab and the driver opens his door to hack one at a stoplight. Many of the younger people especially women have stopped and there was a big push before the Olympics in 2008. Some other teachers say it is reduced, but I can imagine it being much more. If I go for a walk it is almost a guarantee I will here one person, but they could be about a half mile away because of the volume of it.
19th October 2009

ick
I get nauseous when I witness this act in US. Thank you for warning me about this cultural habit. I probably will NOT be visiting you!
23rd October 2009

Not in the Classroom?
No wonder they need those magical, detox things you put on the bottom of your feet. The streets must be really nasty around there...
3rd December 2009

you are a dork!
oh, look, my comment was saved from a previous entry!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb