One Week's Budget in Jiujiang - March 15-21


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » jiujiang
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Introduction and First Day

15th of March


I have always impressed my friends with my…. let’s say “frugality”. My natural inclinations towards economic simplicity were encouraged by my family. Mom and dad did not really have a taste for “nice” things. Wholesome, delicious, entertaining and functional items would suffice.

The tendencies towards minimalism in spending habits have been further reinforced through my traveling experiences. While living in India for six months in 2008, I kept track of every single rupee I spent (for the first four and a half months, at any rate). Even now, I often calculate my expenditures in terms of the amount of food I could purchase in Kolkata. For example, one dollar is not one dollar. It is two paneer egg rolls, two plates of all-you-can-eat rice and lentil curry, three cups of chai, and a bag of peanuts. Later I ended up in New Zealand playing my clarinet on the street for the masses and for my meals. I quickly learned the value of a ten-cent piece.

Now I live in the beautiful city of Jiujiang, China. I teach American (or as some say “English”) in a university. They provide free housing (minus electricity), and 4,900 RMB a month. At current exchange rates this is worth $717.86. I teach roughly sixteen hours a week. On top of this regular gig, I also work at a primary school seven hours a week for 100 RMB an hour.

Together with my coworker Chad, we bring you a report of my monthly spending habits for the month starting March 15 and ending April 15. I will tell my loyal readers on what I have spent every single jiao (1/10th of one yuan).

On the morning of March 15 I awoke at 7:55, took a shower, and had a sandwich and some tea. I then took a taxi (6 RMB for about a three kilometer journey) to the primary school for three hours of education- both for the children and myself. Teaching young’uns is much more draining than teaching eighteen and nineteen year-olds. I walked back to the food stalls near the campus of Jiujiang University, bought a dish of tomatoes with two eggs on rice (5 RMB). After teaching an afternoon class, I went home to check my (free!) internet on my university-provided computer.

Later that evening, I bought a dinner of spicy fish soup with bean sprouts, stir-fried tofu, vinegar peanuts, sweet and sour cabbage, a pepper/potato/eggplant dish and rice for myself and two friends (44 RMB). I then played a few games of billiards with one of them (he paid for our table). I got to practice my Chinese with some curious and friendly pool-hall workers. I also bought a “capu”- the local version of a cappuccino (5 RMB).


Daily expenditures- 60 RMB.

Total expenditures- 60RMB.


Second Day- Tired and Teaching

16 th of March


Who woulda thought that teaching children a new language for four hours straight could take so much out of a young man?

Some of the kids are eager to learn (and they learn quickly) but many are awfully naughty. I don’t have enough Chinese to threaten them effectively. At any rate the pay is good and the experience should prove useful when I am a polygamist with dozens of offspring.

After my standard breakfast (bread and peanut butter with hot green tea) I went to the school gate and bought two vegetable baozi (steamed buns, 1RMB for two). I then took the taxi to the school (6RMB).

Just like the day before, I walked home in the beautiful sunny weather. This time I bought what can only be described as an egg-pancake, because I do not know the name in Chinese. The guy who makes it is young and friendly. It consists of a batter, to which is added an egg, a large cracker, green onion, cilantro, and chili with a touch of peanut. Truly delicious. And, it only costs 2.5RMB! To supplement this meal before my three hours of university teaching, I bought 2RMB’s worth of spicy sesame flatbread.

After teaching I need caffene badly, so I bought another 5RMB “capu”. I find the value of coffee is much better when I don’t drink it every day. I go a little manic now after a cup, which is useful when utterly exhausted.

For dinner I went to a local Hui Muslim restaurant and had their 6RMB egg noodles. They take their time making the food (sometimes as long as 10 or 15 minutes) but the quality and portions are great, and the service is excellent. They always keep garlic and chillis on hand, and add a tomato sauce and delicious veggies to the dish. Almost like Italian food, but way cheaper. The family who owns and work in the shop always offer a smile.Furthermore, I occasionally get some sort of blessing from the old lady which I only understand in by the kind look on her face.

After dinner I splurged on a 30RMB green jersey. I need it for St. Paddy’s day tomorrow. Don’t want to get pinched.

Daily Expenditure- 52.5 RMB.

Total Expenditure- 112.5 RMB.


Wearin’ o’ the Green In Jiujiang

17th of March


I’m pleased to say that we celebrated St. Patrick’s day properly in Jiujiang. After my morning class, I went with my Mexican-American friend and my British buddy to the Muslim noodle shop. I had the usual jidan chow mein (6RMB). For desert I ate two veggie baozi.

I then went to my favourite restaurant- I call it “English Menu” because they have a menu in English- and bought some food to go. Sweet and sour cabbage, shredded potato and peppers, stir-fried tofu (with peppers and black beans), xi hong shi chow dan (eggs with tomato), and two boxes of rice for 23 RMB. Even in fairly nice restaurants food is cheap here if one avoids meat. While waiting for my order I got some bing hong cha- Iced “Red” (black) Tea for 1.5RMB.


Feeling the need to celebrate St. Paddy’s day properly, I texted many friends and invited them to spend the evening dancing to Irish music in my apartment.


I moved my afternoon class to Friday due to the requests of students who wanted to see a Chinese celebrity give a speech in the auditorium.

For party preparations I headed to the local grocery store and bought 22.5 RMB worth of potato chips and bread. The bread cost only 3.9- potato chips are expensive here. However, they also come in awesomely dangerous flavors such as blueberry (bad) and tomato (delicious).

A friend came over in the late afternoon to help me learn Chinese. There were some specific phrases I wanted to know to help deal with my primary school students. I helped her with her English pronounciation, and offered her some “home cooked” Chinese food. She saw through my guise rather quickly, but seemed amused by the attempt to pass off take-away food as my own culinary creation.

She asked me why I liked India so much (because it is very easy to live cheaply, and with a beard and a lungi I can blend in rather well). After trying to answer I showed her a Hindi music video which was mysteriously left on my computer’s hard drive. Chole Ke Piche Kya Hai is in all probability the best song of all time.

To give me energy for my gathering, I bought “capu” for 5RMB.

I was pleasantly surprised by the turnout. In attendence over the course of the evening were 10 Chinese, six Americans, one Canadian, two Nepalese, one Bangladeshi, and an Englishman. We didn’t give him too hard a time- I only occasionally serenaded him with lines from my music such as “and Britannia’s hounds like lightning ran from the rifles of the IRA”. The oldest attendee- a Nepalese doctor- was also the best guest, for he danced the most. I played my clarinet a bit too. Didin’t get to sleep until 1:30 but still rose fresh for my 8AM class. Thank the True Catholic God for my youth.

Daily Expenditure: 58 RMB

Total Expenditure (Three Days) 170.5 RMB


Needed A Quiet Day

18 of March


8AM Class. I organized the first debate of the semester. What the students don’t know is that both sides always lose- the Most Important Reason to Learn English is neither “To Get a Good Job” or “To Learn About Other Countries”. The correct answer is “To Get a Good Grade in This Class.”

Additionally, I assign no homework. Only mandatory ”homefun”. Basically, it is homework. But fun.

10AM Class.

I had lots of leftover food from the party and the grub I bought yesterday, so no need to buy lunch. Mysteriously unable to take a proper nap, I spent my time reading and watching “The Daily Show” on my computer.

And, of course, ridding my apartment of post-party debris. One of the woman who collects cans and bottles for recycling should eat (relatively) well tonight.

I spent about thirteen minutes on Skype to call my folks and wish them a happy St. Patrick’s Day and anniversary (yep, its the same day for them). 2.1 cents per minute times 13, convert to yuan…. about 1.9 RMB.

3:55 (PM) class.

I joined a friend for a streetfood feast dinner. I had the “peanut burrito”- peanuts and pickled veggies with cucumber and a cracker rolled togther with a simple rolling machine- filling, delicious, and only 2.5RMB. I also had two sticks of deep-fried tofu (1RMB for both), and some fried sesame flatbread with plum sauce (2RMB).

I bought a large jug of water and carried it- with my legs, not my back- up the hill to my apartment. 18.9 liters for 4RMB. Sure I could get them delivered for five, but this way I get exercise and look like a total badass. Plus I save enough money for two baozi.

Daily Expenditure- 11.4 RMB

Total Expenditure (Four Days)- 181.9 RMB.


Working for the Weekend!

19- 21 of March


I had a proper sessions of rest and relaxation this past weekend. But first I had to get through a ten-AM class. After awaking at seven all week, this is no problem whatsoever.

For lunch on friday I had my standard “egg-pancake” (2.5 RMB) with a bing hong cha (ice tea, 1.5 RMB) and three veggie baozi (1.5 RMB). I was planning on a huge dinner, seeing as my American friend Jesie was to host a barbeque Friday evening. I taught an afternoon class, and then headed down to help prepare the feast.

I bought ten sticks with big hunks of pineapple (1 yuan apiece, 10 RMB total). I figured (correctly) that they would be delicious if cooked over charcoal and next to some dead animal flesh. Also, I brought a 6RMB bottle of orange juice for the teetolatin’-inclined.

The party was a huge success. Lots of merryment, music, and delicious food. Jessie supplied burgers, chicken, salad, and mashed potatos. Some folks brought cheese and beverages. I pitched in 18RMB to a general food and refreshment fund.

Later that evening (technically Saturday morning) I called my brother on skype and had a 1.9RMB conversation.

Daily Expenditure- 35.4 RMB

Total Expenditure (Five Days) 217.3RMB


I was surprisingly unable to sleep in very late on Saturday. Around noon I headed to the school gate and bought another 2.5RMB egg pancake. I then ran into Ben from England and we went grocery shopping. For 21.5RMB I bought peanut butter, oatmeal, and some very tasty coconut jam. And a bag. There is a national law in place that one must pay 0.2 yuan per grocery bag to encourage recycling and conservation.

Ben and I decided to treat ourselves to a oil back massage. It was wonderful, but a bit pricey at 60RMB, which I borrowed from Ben. I should probably pay him back. I also bought two baozi (1RMB) and had to pay a bus fare to reach the establishment (1RMB), although we decided to walk back.

I spent some time with a Chinese friend and then headed downtown to meet American Bhavin. After paying my 1RMB bus fare, we went to a cafeteria, where I bought 20RMB worth of food-chips. I spent twelve of these tokens on:

1 bowl of rice-and-bean soup, cucumber and garlic in delicious sauce, peanuts, ginger and peppers, a burrito-like thing with an egg, a small plate of tofu, and two pieces of deep-fried sesame bread.

I also ate an egg which Bhavin did not want.

We then headed to a foot-massage place. The foot massage is a Chinese speciality. It is supposed to be great for general health. Many pressure points from the foot are said to effect different organs. Indeed, I had a minor cold before going, but was cured the next day! All this and a delightful pain delivered by an attractive woman for only 30RMB.

I bought two ice-cream cones at McDonald’s for 5RMB.

Bhavin and I split a taxi back, although I only paid 5RMB of the fourteen yuan fare. There was a poker night at a friend’s apartment. I hung out for awhile eating snacks, but went home early due to extreme tiredness. Twelve hours of sleep were calling to me.

Yes I know I am quite the degenerate. I paid two women in one day to touch me! Additionally, today demonstrates how it is actually quite easy to spend a lot a money in China if one decided to indulge in some luxuries.

Daily Expenditure- 142 RMB (!)

Total Expenditure (Six Days) 359.3 RMB.


Sunday was deliciously lazy. Lots of sleep interrupted only by my first skype call from America, which was a welcome “happy Spring” from my dear parents.

Then I basically did nothing all day except spend some time with friends and buy one stick of pineapple (1RMB) and some egg noodles from the Muslim place (6RMB).

For dinner I was invited for some home-cooked Chinese treats by a coworker and her mother. Free but for a short clarinet concert and the implied future obligation of returning the hospitality.

Today shows how it is easy to live very cheaply in China if one only purchases necessities and exploits the generosity of others.

Daily Expenditure- 7RMB

Total Expenditure (Seven Days) 366.3 RMB


Advertisement



3rd April 2010

AAARRGGGHHHHH!!!
So NOW you discover foot massage! you're killing me Bren. Go back to Bangkok before you come home and get theirs. I'm telling you.

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb