Holidays and The Saddest Aquariums in the World


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » jiujiang
December 27th 2009
Published: December 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Christmas Eve was wonderful. I treated myself to a Fish Fillet at McDeath's. I was then invited to a dinner at a freind's house. He is Chinese-American-Chinese. Raised in New York by Chinese parents, living in Jiujiang for the last decade, has a wife and a kid. They had pizza with REAL CHEESE! I got to sit by my friend's father- an honored elder.

Next was the party at my co-workers apartment. Lots of merriment, and a secret Santa game. I got a thermos, very useful for tea. I gave some Jinjou, a santa hat, and Mongolian milk-candy.

Later on that night I met two tour guides while visiting my friends at the local watering hole. I was able to speak enough Chinese to have a very simple conversation (only one spoke English, at it was marginally better than my Chinese). They invited me to Donglinsi the next day- and I seized the opportunity to attend my Chirstmas Day religious service. The temple was beautiful in the misty morning air, and I'm fairly sure baby Jesus wouldin't mind me lighting some inscence for his North Indian cousin.

Later in the day the waigourren and I had all-you-can-eat Western food at a local hotel. My favorite food- the salad and the bread and butter. I'll need to try to find Mexican food if I make it to a big city.

The saddest aquariums in the world are in Chinese supermarkets. The photos were taken at the local Wal-a-Ma, as they say in China. I did not buy anything, although every time I am tempted to get some turtles and frogs and let them free somewhere.

Some friends and I plan to go to Wuhan for New Year's Eve.

All in all, it was a wonderful Christmas. Much love and holiday cheer to my family, my friends, and complete strangers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Catholic ChurchCatholic Church
Catholic Church

It's on kindergarden street. I'd probably go to mass sometime, were it not at seven in the morning.
Buddhist Temple on the LakeBuddhist Temple on the Lake
Buddhist Temple on the Lake

Apparently this is where you should go to pray for a son. I'm looking at you, D&S!


27th December 2009

Turtles are people too
consistent little bugger....

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb