Wo jiao Wan Lei


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Zhangjiagang
September 14th 2006
Published: September 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

They changed my name! I am no longer Xiao Lei, I am now Wan Lei...But I liked Xiao Lei! My Tai Chi instructor was explaining the meaning of it to
me last night, Xiao means small, Lei means 3 stones....Quite what the significance of 3 stones is I do not know. But now I am Wan Lei...Everyone at EF gets a chinese name from Malones beginning with Wan...For example, Steve is called Wan Ke....Awesome name! I think they said Wan means science...Either science or king...I think I will complain, I want Xiao Lei!!!



I took some photos yesterday in the beautiful garden, I will see if I can upload them in a little bit. I had my tai chi instructor come over to my place and we exchanged language lessons, it was a very basic lesson going through my chinese book and then sticking flash cards with the chinese names on to various objects around my apartment. I discovered that the top of the bed is called bed head and the bottom of the bed is called bed tail...The chinese names I think I can't remember, but Jackie (tai chi instructor) told me that in China they have a story, a couple start a fight at the head of the bed, and make up at the tail of the bed! How sweet. And he told me a doorframe is described as a human body, the door is the body, the head is just above the eyebrows of the door, and the floor underneath the door is the door legs or something like that. All very ...Cute!



Last night after exchanging lessons with Jackie, Adam and I hit the town. We wanted to go and see pretty girls dancing at one of the famous dancing bars and a fellow teacher recommended the music box so we went there. Enter the chinese sex industry, I got a slight glimpse into it last night and felt quite uncomfortable. After a few minnutes in the music box we noticed many pretty chinese girls wearing the same shiny beige dresses sitting with middle aged men and talking to them, and I assume getting lots of drinks bought for them. After a few minutes another girl came over to us, pretty
but not wearing beige dress and started talking to us and taking sips of our drinks and encouraging us to get more drinks. At one point she said something to me in chinese which I didn't quite understand but got the impression she was asking if we wanted to talk or do other things....We finished up our drinks and left and went to a bar across the road. This was the best bar I've
ever been too! The barmaids are well fun, we made good friends with Carol who is sooooo much fun and played lots of dice games! I had my first beer, will not have one again....And we danced, showed them the macarena...I slid down as far as I could into the splits and impressed them. Then we left and hugged them goodbye and moved on to the next bar, Malones! I love Malones, there be my darling Lucy! Ooo how cute she is, so small and so adorable! And I got her phone number, but that is only so we can meet up today to do some more language lessons which is cool. I will be seeing her in 45 minutes. After Malones we went to victoria's bar and I think thats the last time I will go there. The barmaid Miaow Miaow is a very big flirt and decided to take a shining to me...She made me feel very uncomfortable, trying to kiss me, trying to get me to kiss her, sitting on her lap and trying to guide my hand to places.....So I left. Me no like Victorias! I think all the barmaids want is money in exchange for one thing and I no want do that.

Oh and we drove through the red light district on the way to malones in the taxi....Very very pretty girls wearing pretty shiny dresses looking bored out of their minds and waiting for a client I guess. I really did not like this, as pretty as they were it was all really seedy and I felt quite uncomfortable again. So yes last night my first glimpse into the chinese sex industry, not much of a glance but still a glance.

I really need to buy a mobile soon, it is the key to my social life! Dawei, if you are reading this I do not know how to get my phone unlocked here. I've asked around, no one seems to know how to do it or where to go. I think I'm gonna have to buy a new one, which may be better because I can write in chinese on it. But Dawei if you have any advice on getting my phone unlocked, any chinese vocabulary, then please tell me!

Not much else to say now, I will try and get my pictures uploaded. See ya lata!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb