firstday at work


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Zhangjiagang
December 28th 2010
Published: December 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So we finished Christmas day much like you would in the uk- we all got terribly drunk on this awesome Korean beer and played Jenga and Uno- The jetlag was beginning to catch up on me and I made everyone laugh with my terrible co-ordination and board game skills! I had too late a night really and was nackered for work this morning!
I just observed lessons today- A bunch of 8 year olds who are so cute and cheeky and a class of teenagers who were very shy and quiet- It was quite good to see the contrast and although I’m nervous about starting to teach, I’m really looking forward to it. They have pretty much every material you need here and you just follow a syllabus in a textbook, so there’s not that much preparation involved really! We watched spot with the 8 year olds to teach them prepositions and it brought back so many memories of watching it in Marguerite’s room with Matthew. It made me feel a bit homesick- silly I know, but at the moment the jetlag trumps that!
I’ve just moved into my flat- my flatmate is still at work this afternoon, so I’ve put my pictures on the walls, hung my clothes and I’m just about to venture off on my own for the first time to find a shop and I’m going to surprise magda with dinner when she gets home. I’m really so happy here- I’m not in work until 12.30 tomorrow, so I’m going to have the most epic lie- in and get some brunch somewhere new before work!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb