Tongli's Garden of Seclusion and Meditation


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Tongli
January 23rd 2009
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tongli's Garden of Seclusion and Meditation

This is one of the many traditional Chinese gardens in Tongli. Although not built on the same scale as the ones in Suzhou, they are no less magnificent. They are free once you buy a ticket to the village. It is hard to imagine such beautiful gardens were once private property and part of someone's house. I like this garden very much. Visitors enter the garden at the living area of the house and can explore the ancient house. There are musicians there playing for visitors. Behind the living area is the garden which centers on a large lake. There are many pavilions and buildings around the lake and one pavilion is located on the top of a rockery. The garden is very peaceful and after 2:30 empty. There are people in period clothing playing traditional Chinese instruments which adds another wonderful level to the already fantastic atmosphere of the garden. I like to buy a little bag of fish food, find a quiet corner and sit and slowly feed the koi fish in the lake. I find it really peaceful. As I said in my previous blog at 2:30 all of the tour busses leave the village and so all of the gardens and mansions have very few if any visitors. It almost feels like it is your own private garden.

Ticket Price:
Free
Time Needed:
1-2 hours
Hours of Operation:
10:00-6:00
Location:
In Tongli Village outside of Suzhou

In September 2008 I was sent on an inspection tour with China Odyssey Tours. I am the Marketing Manager of China Odyssey Tours. No one is told that I work for the company, and since I am a foreigner I can experience a tour the way our customers do. That way I get the real experience without any VIP treatment. I check on the sites, hotels, restaurants, and guides to ensure that they all meet our rigid quality guidelines.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb