To the One Yuan and Back


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Suzhou
November 27th 2006
Published: November 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our second day of the tour dropped us off at a Buddhist temple garden. There were Buddha's carved into the rock everywhere. Mostly the laughing Buddha, which is the most popular in China, and my personal favorite. Everytime I think of Buddha, I think of Melissa. She'll know what I mean.
"Who is this jolly fat man?"
He reminds me of Santa Clause a little, but mostly resembles a character out of my favorite book: A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.
If anyone has ever watched "A Muppet's Christmas Carol", which is my nirvana, I always imagine Buddha as sitting while surrounded by massive piles of meat, fruits, and vegetables. Then he laughs while his belly jiggles and bellows, "Come in! And know me better man!"
And it is such a joy to have four Buddhas staring at me from my shelf. One is even kindly holding my broadband connection into my computer. 😊

Back to the gardens: We left. And we went to the river for a boat cruise. I was very tired and didn't have much energy to go out on the cold, wet deck and take pictures. Our boat's engine was humming and the boat's guide was talking fast in a language I didn't understand. At the end of the cruise, Kaffy said "Hey do you have a 1 yuan bill?"
"Yeah." I said and got it out.
We looked at the picture on it and said "We just saw that!"
So what's next? The 5 yuan is part of the Great Wall. Been there, I don't know about that exact spot. The 10 yuan looks like a gorge. And I think the 20 yuan, I don't have one now, but I think it is the mountains in Guilin. I'd like to go there next.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



27th November 2006

Good to see you.
Wonderful blog...as usual. Thank you. I was glad to see pictures of you. You had more color in your cheeks - and looked healthier than some of your previous ones. We love you and miss you!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb