Day Two In Nanjing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
June 12th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The next day in Nanjing, Sunday, I went to church. It was so nice to get to go after not being able to the week before. And aside from the gospel, I learned some really interesting things from some on the members there.

-In Jinan (Shandong provience), there is a building there that she said when she in her husband stepped in, they immidiately felt the spirit there. And on the wall there were, carvings I believe, of three personages. There was also, as she put it, clearly a baptismal font. And then there was something about three rooms which she couldn't say because it related to the temple. And lastly, the last room had, carvings I believe, of familes. Cool huh? I'm going to try to visit it one weekend.

-Another lady from Taiwan said, for those who have been through the temple, the statues at Buddist or Confucious temples (not sure if it was both or just one) often are doing something with their hands that you do in the temple. Isn't that interesting?

After church I looked for food but only found ice cream and settled on that to hold me over. It
To Church I GoTo Church I GoTo Church I Go

Along the way to church.
was purple and wasn't blueberry. Any guesses on what it was? I wanted to go to a park for a Sunday activity and went to the Xaunwu Lake park. It was crowded so I left and went to the Bailzhou Park near my hostel. The park wasn't free-not much is in China. Once in there a man tried to give me his ice cream and water he bought. He saw me struggling to get my ticket in and wanted to show me around. I wasn't about to take his water and ice cream and honestly I was just frustrated and in tears with this new city and declined his offer. Poor guy was just being nice and I was way to self absorbed.

I took my time in the park, sitting and writting in my journal or looking at all the details of the bridges and what not. I often just look too fast at the sites here.

Later that night I decided to go see the Najing River Bridge. I have read it is a "must see." I had directions. But after one scooter coming within an inch of hitting me and forty-five minutes of
Xuanwu Lake Park GatesXuanwu Lake Park GatesXuanwu Lake Park Gates

Part of the Nanjing City Wall.
walking on a dark, creepy street, you know the one you see in horror movie and you are just screaming at the girl to stop and go back; I turned around. Sure I had my mase spray but I think even that wasn't enough.

And that was basically the end of my second day in Nanjing.





Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

No IdeaNo Idea
No Idea

In Bailuzhou Park. I have no idea what these were used for behind me.
ExcerciseExcercise
Excercise

I'm not sure what "martial art" he is doing, but the guys do it all over in the parks.
Look At That SmogLook At That Smog
Look At That Smog

This place would be so much more beautiful if they cleaned up the air.
I Feel IlliterateI Feel Illiterate
I Feel Illiterate

I wish I could read Chinese. I know what aisle seat means, but that is it.
Cave TunnelsCave Tunnels
Cave Tunnels

Along a lot of paths in China they have these rock, caves that you walk through. You know at the beach when you pick up the wet sand and let it drip in to a mound? That is exactly what they look like. (Excuse my wet look here, it's really that humid)
We Match!We Match!
We Match!

I don't know why it's this color.
Chinese Graffiti Sure Is PrettyChinese Graffiti Sure Is Pretty
Chinese Graffiti Sure Is Pretty

It probably isn't really graffiti. I think you would be sentenced to death for that here.


12th June 2008

Haha I'm laughing at two things the most....the green river (what the crap!) and your description of your "stupid walk". Sorry you get frustrated sometimes Jess. I wish I was there so we could go on stupid walks together! Miss you and love you!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb