Mt Hengshan!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hunan » Xiangtan
July 10th 2005
Published: July 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

MeMeMe

Me. On a mountain. Yay!


Mt Hengshan in known as the Southern Peak, or Nanyue, consists of 72 peaks, and rises 1266m above sea level, although it felt like a lot more!

This was my first real mountain, and I reached the summit on July the 4th with 2 mates that I met on the local basketball courts; Socrates and Chen Yue.

Together, we laughed all the way up on our 11hr hike, everyone helping each other with every difficulty encountered. It was spectacular.
We got lost, found dead ends, had to retrace our path, took a stupidly long route, and at the top I we were all giddy with exhaustion, and Socrates almost had to slap me cause I couldn't stop laughing!
I'm laughing right now, just thinking about it.

Sometimes we would stop for a break, and the spread of the land below us would take my breath away.

Along the way, we met this guy claiming to be from the insurance agency, who was very helpful and showed us where to go...
and then got way too close.
At first he was all friendly, taking pics of the three of us, telling us about the history of the mountain, but as it got dark I became quite wary of him. Rightfully so, because he got drunk on Bai Jiu (rice based white wine at 45% alcohol) at the restaurant that he took us to, which ripped us off badly, and didn't pay his share.
Then, as we were negotiating our lodging for the night, the hotel he wanted us to stay at had no 3 bedroom rooms left, only a 4 bed room. Things got creepy when he decided that instead of going back down the mountain to his home, he would stay in the same hotel.
Something needed to be done.
In a dramatic display of bravado, I picked a fight with the hotel over the deposit (lol!) and walked out.
What I didn't expect was a troupe from the hotel following me outside where it was pitch black, and folding completely to my (rather unreasonable) demands.
In this second round, the three of us stood encircled and surrounded by 'uncle' and his gang, and using all my consumer law expertise I exercised my absolute right not to purchase their services, and... threw a fit. over their 'attitude problem' LOL!!
As the three of us walked
um... excuse  me, which way to... enlightenment?um... excuse  me, which way to... enlightenment?um... excuse me, which way to... enlightenment?

Yeah.. we got lost. But we saw some pretty graves while we were there!
away, with an angry 'uncle' following behind, pretending to be confused, I knew this third round would be crucial. There was simply no way that we could convince him to stay and rest without insulting him, so, bravado almost depleted, I stopped, turned, and ...sang his praises. After thanking him for 'everything' I suggested that we go our separate ways. Socrates and Chen Yue agreed heartily and before he could object I took his hand and shook it firmly. Socrates got there right after me, and then Chen Yue. Basically, between the three of us we didn't give him time to react, and were all several paces away when we saw him shake his head in disbelief, spit, and forcefully throw his cigarette away.

That night, lying on the top of the mountain, I had never seen so many stars in my life. Most of Hunan produces rice, so you can just imagine the lack of pollution in the night sky.

In the morning, we raced up to the summit, Zhurong Peak, just in time for sunrise and it was amazing. We got the best spot on the whole mountain, and watching the world awaken from that balcony,
Harmony 2Harmony 2Harmony 2

This place was stunning.
we were gods. It made me feel powerful and insignificant at the same time; like I had been living in a single room all my life, and had only just found the window. I got such a rush from the sense that all the exhaustion and scratches and sleep deprivation had been worthwhile.
That's why I refuse to take the cable car. I don't think I would have been so moved if it wasn't for the blood and sweat.








Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Three boys on a busThree boys on a bus
Three boys on a bus

from left to right: Socrates, me, Chen Yue, on the coach ride there.
Chen Yue in an abandoned templeChen Yue in an abandoned temple
Chen Yue in an abandoned temple

This place was cool, and if you look closely you'll notice 'uncle' in the bottom left, already stalking his prey!
Whee!Whee!
Whee!

This should give you guys some idea of what most of the hike was like; loads of fun.
Ha! I can emit pure energy from my hands!Ha! I can emit pure energy from my hands!
Ha! I can emit pure energy from my hands!

The clouds felt closer, and the sky seemed within reach. If I were to jump up in the air, God would get poked. ;P


10th July 2005

wow
truly beautiful dewd...glad u got rid of the weirdo too! keep smylin!
11th July 2005

sounds like a great adventure
Ah yes, Dawei the leader once more in the adventures of china. Nice to hear you finally conqured a mountain, and having great fun out there. Sure hope you did'nt catch a cold sleeping on a mountain for a night... Err.. neways look forward to your next blog :D
14th July 2005

Sup
Yo; i'm in paris at the moment. china looks like more fun
16th July 2005

hurry up
GOOD BOY~ HOPE U WILL ENJOY IT~
18th July 2005

Hey Dawei!!
I've looked at a few random travel blogs before and noticed they didn't update much, and so I haven't checked your blog for a while expecting there to be not so many updates. But my god! You've proved me wrong, and your blog has been very interesting! I really envy you dude! It looks like you're having an amazing time!!! I wish I were there with you. I shall now check your blog way more often!! Good work on the updates. I will make it my intention to meet up with you in September when you get back, did you say it was the 16th? I'll get in touch in the beginning of September and I hope to see you then man! And by the way, I hope you're practicing your aerials! Sifu won't be pleased!!!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb